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Voluntary Accidental Death and Dismemberment insurance plan 

Effective January 1, 2019 

POLICYHOLDER: State of Tennessee 

POLICY NUMBER:  34295-G 

Read Your Certificate Carefully 
You are insured under the group policy shown on the 
certificate specifications page.  This certificate 
summarizes the principal provisions of the group policy 
that affect you.  The provisions summarized in this 
certificate are subject in every respect to the group policy.  
You may examine the group policy at the principal office of 
the policyholder during regular working hours.   

Legal Actions 
No legal action may be brought to recover on this 
certificate within the first sixty days after written proof of 
loss has been given as required by this certificate.  No 
such action may be brought after three years from the 
time written proof of loss is required to be given. 
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 AD&D INSURANCE CERTIFICATE SPECIFICATIONS PAGE 

GENERAL INFORMATION 
   
POLICYHOLDER: 
 

State of Tennessee POLICY NO.:  34295-G 

POLICY EFFECTIVE DATE: January 1, 2014.  This specifications page represents the plan in effect as of 
January 1, 2019. 

  
POLICY ANNIVERSARY DATE: January 1 of each year beginning January 1, 2015 
  
This certificate and/or certificate specifications page replaces any and all certificates and/or certificate 
specifications pages previously issued to you under the group policy.  Please replace any certificate and/or 
certificate specifications page previously issued to you with this new certificate and/or specifications page. 
 
GROUP: 

 
The group is composed of all active employees of the policyholder and its 
associated employers working in the United States. 
  

WAITING PERIOD: Employees regularly scheduled to work 30 hours a week or more:  
Employees regularly scheduled to work 30 hours a week or more: The period 
commencing with the employee’s date of eligibility (either the employee’s date 
of hire; or the date of a status change, e.g. part-time to full-time after the 
employee has worked one full calendar month) and ending on the first day of 
the month following the employee’s date of eligibility.* 
 
*For newly eligible employees the effective date of coverage will be the first day 
of the month following one full calendar month of employment or date of status 
change. 
 
Seasonal employees hired prior to July 1, 2015 certified as working 1,450 
hours per fiscal year:  The period commencing 24 months from the 
employee’s date of hire and ending on the first day of the month following the 
completion of the 24-month requirement. 
 

ENROLLMENT PERIOD:  An employee may apply for coverage during the following enrollment periods:  
 

Newly eligible employees:  within the 31 day period beginning from the first 
day of eligibility.  
 
Annual enrollment:  A period of annual enrollment as determined by the 
policyholder’s normal practices and procedures.  
 
Qualified status change:  within sixty (60) days of a special qualifying event, 
as defined according to the policyholder’s normal practices and procedures.   
 
Applications made during a period of initial eligibility or due to a qualified 
status change shall be effective on the first day of the month following the 
request.  A newly eligible employee must work a full calendar month before 
coverage becomes effective.  Requests made during an annual enrollment 
shall be effective on the general effective date of the annual enrollment.   
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PLAN OF INSURANCE 
  

EMPLOYEE AND FAMILY BENEFIT SCHEDULE 
  
ACCIDENTAL DEATH AND DISMEMBERMENT (AD&D) INSURANCE: 
  
Amount of AD&D Insurance:   If elected by the employee, the amount of insurance is determined based on the 

employee’s base annual earnings and family coverage election, as detailed below:   
  

Employees Base Annual Earnings 
Amount: 

 
Employee 

****************Family Coverage****************** 
Spouse Only 
(No Children) 

Spouse and Children 
Spouse Each Child 

Less than $3,000 $6,000 $4,000 $2,000 $1,000 
$3,000 but less than $4,000 $9,000 $5,000 $3,000 $1,000 
$4,000 but less than $5,000 $12,000 $7,000 $4,000 $2,000 
$5,000 but less than $6,000 $15,000 $9,000 $5,000 $2,000 
$6,000 but less than $7,000 $18,000 $11,000 $7,000 $2,000 
$7,000 but less than $8,000 $21,000 $13,000 $8,000 $3,000 
$8,000 but less than $9,000 $24,000 $15,000 $10,000 $3,000 

$9,000 but less than $10,000 $27,000 $17,000 $11,000 $3,000 
$10,000 but less than $12,500 $32,000 $19,000 $13,000 $3,000 
$12,500 but less than $15,000 $38,000 $23,000 $15,000 $4,000 
$15,000 but less than $17,500 $44,000 $26,000 $18,000 $4,000 
$17,500 but less than $20,000 $50,000 $30,000 $20,000 $5,000 

$20,000 and over $60,000 $36,000 $25,000 $5,000 
 

GENERAL PROVISIONS FOR INSURANCE 
   
AGE REDUCTIONS: None 
  
EFFECT OF EMPLOYEE’S 
RETIREMENT: 

All insurance terminates at retirement according to the provisions of the 
Termination section on page 6 of the Certificate.   

  
CONTRIBUTORY/ 
NONCONTRIBUTORY: 

All AD&D insurance is contributory insurance. 

  
INCREASES AND DECREASES: Increases and decreases due to a change in eligible earnings will be based 

upon the employee’s salary as of September 1 of each year or an alternative 
date established by the State with the effective date of the recalculated 
coverage to be on October 1 of the same year or on an alternative date 
established by the State.   
 
Increases or decreases due to a status change must be made within 60 days of 
a qualifying status change and shall be effective on the first day of the month 
following the request. 
 
All increases are subject to the actively at work requirement.  Dependents 
insurance shall automatically increase or decrease as the employee’s amount of 
insurance increases or decreases. 
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Definitions 
age 

Your attained age as of September 1 each plan year, or 
for a newly eligible employee, your attained age on your 
date of eligibility. 

associated employer 

Any employer which is designated by the policyholder and 
agreed to by us to participate under the group policy.  The 
policyholder represents any associated employer in all 
transactions pertaining to the group policy.  The 
policyholder’s acts or omissions and every notice given by 
us to the policyholder shall be binding on every associated 
employer. 

contributory insurance 

Insurance for which you are required to make premium 
contributions. 

earnings 

Your base annual earnings are your basic rate of 
compensation not including commissions, overtime or 
premium pay, bonuses, or any other additional 
compensation as of September 1 of each year.  For a 
newly eligible employee, earnings shall mean your base 
annual earnings on your date of eligibility. 

employee 

An individual employed by the State who: 

(1)  is regularly scheduled to work not less than thirty 
(30) hours per week; or  

(2) has received a seasonal appointment and who 
meets the requirements set forth in TCA 8-27-204 
(a)(3) or 

(3) is deemed eligible by applicable federal law, state 
law, or action of the State Insurance Committee. 
  

employer 

The policyholder or any designated associated employer. 

insured 

A person who is eligible for and becomes insured under 
the terms of this certificate.    

licensed physician 

An individual who is licensed to practice medicine or treat 
illness in the state in which treatment is received.  The 
physician cannot be you or your spouse, children, parents, 
grandparents, grandchildren, brothers or sisters, or the 
spouse of any such individuals. 

non-work day 

A day on which the employee is not regularly scheduled to 
work, including scheduled time off for vacations, personal 
holidays, weekends and holidays, and approved leaves of 
absence for non-medical reasons. 

Non-work day does not include time off for medical leave 
of absence, temporary layoff, employer suspension of 
operations in total or in part, strike, and any time off due to 
sickness or injury including sick days, short-term disability, 
or long-term disability. 

noncontributory insurance 

Insurance for which you are not required to make premium 
contributions. 

policyholder 

The owner of the group policy as shown on the 
specifications page attached to this certificate. 

specifications page 

The outline which summarizes your coverage under the 
policyholder’s plan of insurance. 

waiting period 

The period, if any, of continuous employment with the 
employer that the employee must satisfy prior to becoming 
eligible for coverage under this certificate.  Any such 
waiting period is shown on the specifications page 
attached to this certificate. 

we, our, us 

Minnesota Life Insurance Company. 

you, your, certificate holder 

An insured employee. 

General Information 
What is your agreement with us? 

This certificate summarizes the principal provisions of your 
accidental death and dismemberment insurance provided 
by the group policy.  The provisions summarized in this 
certificate are subject in every respect to the group policy.  
Your application is deemed a part of this certificate. 

Any statements made in your application will, in the 
absence of fraud, be considered representations and not 
warranties.  Also, any statement made will not be used to 
void your insurance nor defend against a claim unless the 
statement is contained in the application, and a copy 
containing the statement is furnished to you, the 
beneficiary, or your or the beneficiary’s personal 
representative. 
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This certificate is issued in consideration of your 
application and the payment of the required premium. 

Can this certificate be amended? 

Yes.  Your consent is not required to amend this 
certificate.  Any amendment will be without prejudice to 
any claim for benefits incurred prior to the effective date of 
the amendment.  

Who is eligible for insurance? 

You are eligible if you: 

(1) are a member of the eligible group and of an 
eligible class identified in the specification page; 
and 

(2) have satisfied the waiting period, if any; and 
(3) meet the actively at work requirement described in 

the  “What is the actively at work requirement?” 
provision of this section. 
 

Are retired employees eligible for insurance? 

No. 

What is the actively at work requirement? 

To be eligible to become insured or to receive an increase 
in the amount of insurance, an employee must be actively 
at work, fully performing his or her customary duties for his 
or her regularly scheduled hours at the employer’s normal 
place of business, or at other places the employer’s 
business requires him or her to travel. 

Employees not working due to illness or injury do not meet 
the actively at work requirement nor do employees 
receiving sick pay, short-term disability benefits or long-
term disability benefits. 

If the employee is not actively at work on the date 
coverage would otherwise begin, or on the date an 
increase in his or her amount of insurance would 
otherwise be effective, he or she will not be eligible for the 
coverage or increase until he or she returns to active 
work.  However, if the absence is on a non-work day, 
coverage will not be delayed provided the employee was 
actively at work on the work day immediately preceding 
the non-work day. 

Except as otherwise provided for in this certificate, an 
employee is eligible to continue to be insured only while 
he or she remains actively at work. 

When does your insurance become effective? 

Your insurance becomes effective on the date that all of 
the following conditions have been met: 

(1) you meet all eligibility requirements; and 
(2) if required, you apply for the insurance through 

processes or on forms which are approved by us. 
 

In addition, elections made during an annual enrollment 
period will not become effective prior to the effective date 
of that enrollment (generally the following January 1). 
 
Can your coverage be continued during sickness, 
injury, leave of absence or temporary layoff? 

Yes.  The employer may continue your noncontributory 
insurance or allow you to continue your contributory 
insurance when you are absent from work due to 
sickness, injury, leave of absence, or temporary layoff. 

Continuation of your insurance is subject to certain time 
limits and conditions as stated in the group policy.  If you 
stop active work for any reason, you should discuss with 
the emloyer what arrangements may be made to continue 
your insurance. 

Premiums 
When and how often are premiums due? 

Unless the policyholder and we have agreed to some 
other premium payment procedure, any premium 
contributions you are required to make for contributory 
insurance are to be paid by you to the policyholder on a 
monthly basis.  We apply premiums consecutively to keep 
the insurance in force. 

Can a premium be paid after the date it is due? 

Yes.  The group policy has a 31-day grace period.  If a 
premium is not paid on or before the date it is due, that 
premium may be paid during the 31-day period following 
the due date.  The insurance under the group policy will 
remain in effect during the 31-day grace period. 

Accidental Death and Dismemberment 
Benefit 
What does accidental death or dismemberment by 
accidental injury mean? 

Accidental death or dismemberment by accidental injury 
means that an insured’s death or dismemberment results, 
directly and independently of all other causes, from an 
accidental injury which is unintended, unexpected, and 
unforeseen.  The bodily injury must be the sole cause of 
death or dismemberment. 

The injury must occur while the insured’s coverage is in 
force.  The insured’s death or dismemberment must occur 
within 180 days after the date of the injury. 

What is the amount of the accidental death and 
dismemberment benefit? 

The amount of the benefit shall be a percentage of the 
amount of insurance shown on the specifications page 
attached to the group policy.  The percentage is 
determined by the type of loss as shown in the following 
table:  
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FOR LOSS OF AMOUNT OF BENEFIT 

Life .................................... Full Amount of AD&D Insurance 
Both Hands or Both Feet .. Full Amount of AD&D Insurance 
Sight of Both Eyes ............ Full Amount of AD&D Insurance 
Speech and Hearing 
   In Both Ears ................... Full amount of AD&D Insurance  
One Hand and One Foot .. Full Amount of AD&D Insurance 
One Foot and Sight 
   of One Eye .................... Full Amount of AD&D Insurance 
One Hand and Sight 
   of One Eye .................... Full Amount of AD&D Insurance 
Quadriplegia ..................... Full Amount of AD&D Insurance  
Paraplegia ................... 75% of Amount of AD&D Insurance  
Speech or Hearing in  
   Both Ears .................. 50% of Amount of AD&D Insurance  
Sight of One Eye ......... 50% of Amount of AD&D Insurance 
One Hand or 
   One Foot .................. 50% of Amount of AD&D Insurance 
Hemiplegia .................. 50% of Amount of AD&D Insurance 
Thumb and Index 
  Finger of One Hand ... 25% of Amount of AD&D Insurance 
 
Loss of hands or feet means complete severance at or 
above the wrist or ankle joints.  Loss of sight, speech, or 
hearing means the entire and irrecoverable loss of sight, 
speech or hearing which cannot be corrected by medical 
or surgical treatment or by artificial means.  Loss of thumb 
or finger means complete severance at or above the 
metacarpophalangeal joints (the joints closest to the palm 
of the hand).   

Quadriplegia means total and permanent paralysis of both 
upper limbs (from the shoulder down including total 
paralysis of both hands) and both lower limbs (from the 
waist down including total paralysis of both feet).  
Paraplegia means total and permanent paralysis of both 
lower limbs (from the waist down including total paralysis 
of both feet).  Hemiplegia means total and permanent 
paralysis of both the upper limb (from the shoulder down 
including total paralysis of the hand) and lower limb (from 
the waist down including total paralysis of the foot) on one 
side of the body.   

A benefit is not payable for both loss of one hand and the 
loss of thumb and index finger of one hand for injury to the 
same hand as a result of any one accident.  Under no 
circumstance will more than one payment be made for the 
loss of the same limb, eye, finger, thumb, hand, foot, sight, 
speech, or hearing if one payment has already been made 
for that loss. 

Benefits may be paid for more than one accidental loss 
but the total amount of AD&D insurance payable under 
this certificate for all of an insured’s losses due to any one 
accident, not including any amount paid according to the 
terms of the Additional Benefits section of this certificate,  
will never exceed the full amount of AD&D insurance 
shown on the specifications page attached to this 
certificate.  

What are the notice of claim and proof of loss 
requirements?  

Written notice of injury on which a claim may be based 
must be given to us within 30 days after the accident.  
Proof of loss must be furnished to us within 90 days after 
the date of loss.  However, failure to give such notice and 
proof within the time provided will not invalidate the claim 
if it is shown that notice and proof were given as soon as 
reasonably possible. 

When we receive written notice of claim, we will send the 
claimant our claim forms if he or she needs them.  If the 
claimant does not receive the forms within 15 days, we will 
accept his or her written description as proof of loss. 

When will the accidental death or dismemberment 
benefit be payable? 

We will pay the accidental death or dismemberment 
benefit upon receipt at our home office of written proof 
satisfactory to us that you died or suffered a covered 
dismemberment as a result of a covered accidental injury.  
All payments by us are payable from our home office.   

To whom will we pay the accidental death or 
dismemberment benefit? 

In the case of your accidental death, we will pay the 
accidental death benefit to the beneficiary or beneficiaries.  
All other benefits will be payable to you, if living, otherwise 
to your estate. 

You should designate a beneficiary or beneficiaries when 
you first enroll under the plan.  You can change your 
beneficiary designation at any time, provided all of the 
following are true: 

(1) your coverage is in force; and 
(2) we have written consent of all irrevocable 

beneficiaries. 
 

A beneficiary designation must be made in writing, or in 
any other method agreeable between us and the 
policyholder and made available under the plan.  Any 
beneficiary designation shall take effect as of the date it is 
signed, but will not affect any payment we make or action 
we take before receiving the designation.     

You may also choose to name a beneficiary that you 
cannot change without the beneficiary’s consent.  This is 
called an irrevocable beneficiary. 

If there is more than one beneficiary, each will receive an 
equal share, unless you have requested another method 
in your beneficiary designation.  To receive the death 
benefit, a beneficiary must be living at the time of your 
death.  In the event a beneficiary is not living at the time of 
your death, that beneficiary’s portion of the death benefit 
shall be equally distributed to the remaining surviving 
beneficiaries.  In the event of the simultaneous deaths of 
you and a beneficiary, the death benefit will be paid as if 
you survived the beneficiary.  
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If there is no eligible beneficiary, or if you do not name 
one, we will pay the death benefit to: 

(1) your lawful spouse, if living; otherwise 
(2) your natural or legally adopted child (children) in 

equal shares, if living; otherwise 
(3) your parents in equal shares, if living; otherwise 
(4) the personal representative of your estate. 

 
A request to add or change a beneficiary must be made in 
writing, or in any other method agreeable between us and 
the policyholder and made available under the plan.  A 
change will take effect as of the date it is signed, but will 
not affect any payment we make or action we take before 
receiving your request. 

Additional Benefits 
Unless stated otherwise, additional benefits are payable to 
the same person or persons who receive the AD&D 
benefits.  Additional benefits are paid in addition to any 
AD&D benefits described in the Accidental Death and 
Dismemberment section, unless otherwise stated. All 
provisions of this certificate, including but not limited to the 
exclusions and requirements listed under the “What does 
accidental death or dismemberment by accidental injury 
mean?” section, shall apply to these additional benefits. 

Adaptive Home and Vehicle Benefit 

What is the adaptive home and vehicle benefit?  

If an insured suffers a loss other than loss of life and a 
benefit is payable under the AD&D benefit, we will pay for 
an insured’s principal residence to be made accessible 
and/or an insured’s private automobile to be made 
drivable or rideable.  These one-time alteration expenses 
must be incurred within two years from the date of the 
accident.  An insured’s benefit will be the lesser of: 

(1) 10% of his or her amount of AD&D insurance; or  
(2) the actual alteration expense. 

 
The Adaptive Home and Vehicle Benefit will be payable 
only if: 

(1) such home alterations are made by a person or 
persons with experience in such alterations and 
recommended by a recognized organization 
associated with the injury; 

(2) such vehicle modifications are carried out by a 
person or persons with experience in such matters 
and approved by the Motor Vehicle Department. 

 
Air Bag Benefit 

What is the air bag benefit? 

If an insured dies as a result of a covered accident which 
occurs while he or she is driving or riding in a private 
passenger car, we will pay an additional AD&D benefit 
equal to 10% of the insured’s amount of AD&D insurance. 

In order to be eligible for this benefit, the following must 
apply: 

(1) the seat in which the insured was seated was 
equipped with a properly installed airbag at the 
time of the accident; and 

(2) the private passenger car is equipped with 
seatbelts; and 

(3) a seatbelt was in proper use by the insured at the 
time of the accident as certified in the official 
accident report or by the investigating officer; and 

(4) at the time of the accident, the driver of the private 
passenger car was a licensed driver and was not 
intoxicated, impaired, or under the influence of 
alcohol or drugs. 

 
Airbag means a passive restraint device in a vehicle which 
inflates upon collision to protect an individual from injury or 
death. 

Seatbelt means a properly installed seatbelt (or child 
restraint if the insured is a child), lap and shoulder 
restraint, or other restraint approved by the National 
Highway Traffic Safety Administration or any successor 
governmental agency.  A private passenger car means a 
validly registered four-wheeled private passenger car or 
policyholder-owned car, jeep, pickup truck or van, 
including a sport utility vehicle (SUV), that is not licensed 
commercially or being used for racing, or acrobatic or 
stunt driving. 

Child Care Benefit 

What is the child care benefit? 

If you die as a result of a covered accident and you are 
survived by one or more insured dependent children under 
age 13, we will pay additional benefits to reimburse for 
child care expenses incurred for your dependent children 
while under age 13.  

The benefit for each child per year will be the lesser of: 

(1) 10% of your amount of AD&D insurance; or  
(2) actual incurred child care expenses. 
 

Child care expenses are those expenses which are for a 
service or supply furnished by a licensed child care 
provider or facility for a dependent child’s care.  No 
payment will be made for expenses incurred more than six 
years after the date of your death or for expenses incurred 
for dependent children age 15 and over.  Proof of incurred 
child care expenses shall be required before any benefit 
payment is made.  The child care benefit will be paid to 
the surviving parent, to the child’s guardian, the custodian 
under the Uniform Transfers to Minors Act or to an adult 
caretaker when permitted under state law. 
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Coma Benefit 

What is the coma benefit? 

If an insured lapses into a coma as a result of and within 
365 days of a covered accidental injury, and such coma 
has lasted for a minimum of 31 days, we will pay a 
monthly benefit equal to the lesser of: 

(1) 1% of the insured’s amount of AD&D insurance; 
or 

(2) 1% of the difference between the insured’s 
amount of AD&D insurance and the amount of 
any benefits paid under the loss schedule for the 
same accident. (if the full amount of AD&D 
insurance has been paid, no benefit is payable 
under this section).  
 

This benefit will be paid monthly until the earliest of the 
following: 

(1) the date the insured recovers such that he or she 
is no longer in a coma as defined herein; or 

(2) the date of the insured’s death.  If an accidental 
death payment is due under this certificate, the 
amount of such payment will be reduced by the 
amount of AD&D insurance paid under this coma 
provision; or 

(3) 100 monthly benefits have been paid. 
 

Coma means a state of profound unconsciousness with 
no evidence of appropriate responses to stimulation.  The 
insured must be confined in a medical facility and 
diagnosed as comatose by a licensed physician. 

Common Accident Benefit 

What is the common accident benefit? 

If both you and your insured spouse die from covered 
accidental injuries sustained in a common accident, your 
spouse’s accidental death benefit will be increased to an 
amount equal to 100% of your amount of AD&D 
insurance. 

Common accident means the same accident or separate 
accidents that occur within the same 24-hour period.  You 
and your insured spouse must also die within 180 days of 
each other from the common accident. 

Dependent Child Education Benefit 

What is the dependent child education benefit? 

We will pay an education benefit on behalf of your 
dependent children if you die as a result of a covered 
accident and are survived by one or more insured 
dependent children, provided that: 

(1) at the time of your death, the dependent child is 
enrolled as a full-time student at an accredited 
post-secondary educational institution (however, 
no benefit will be payable for the current school 
year); or 

(2) the dependent child enrolls on a full-time basis in 
an accredited post-secondary educational 
institution within one year of your death. 

 
The benefit payable will be the lesser of: 

(1) the actual tuition charged, exclusive of room and 
board; or 

(2) 5% of your amount of insurance. 
 

The benefit will be payable at the beginning of each 
school year for a maximum of four consecutive years, 
but not beyond the date the child attains age 26.  The 
benefit will be paid to the insured dependent child if he 
or she is of legal age.  If the insured dependent child is 
not of legal age the benefit will be paid to the person 
who provides proof they have paid or will pay the tuition 
bill for that school year.  Proof of enrollment and tuition 
costs are required for each school year. 

Felonious Assault Benefit 
 
What is the felonious assault benefit? 

If you die or suffer a covered dismemberment as a result 
of a covered accident caused by a felonious assault, we 
will pay an additional benefit equal to 5% of your amount 
of AD&D insurance.  

A felonious assault is a physical assault by another person 
resulting in bodily harm to you.  The assault must take 
place while you are performing your customary duties at 
the employer’s normal place of business or at other places 
the employer’s business requires you to travel.  The 
assault must involve the use of force or violence with 
intent to cause harm and must be either a felony or a 
misdemeanor. 

No benefit is payable if the assault is a result of a moving 
violation.   

Public Transportation Benefit 

What is the public transportation benefit? 

If an insured dies or suffers a covered dismemberment as 
a result of a covered accident which occurs while the 
insured is a fare-paying passenger on a public 
transportation vehicle, we will pay an additional benefit 
equal to 15% of the insured’s full amount of AD&D 
insurance. 

Public transportation vehicle means any air, land or water 
vehicle operated under a license for the transportation of 
fare paying passengers.  

Repatriation Benefit 

What is the repatriation benefit? 

If, as a result of a covered accident, an insured dies at 
least 75 miles from his or her principal residence, an 
additional accidental death benefit shall be paid for the 
preparation and transportation of the body to a mortuary.  
The additional benefit shall be the lesser of the actual cost 
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of such preparation and transportation or $5,000.  The 
benefit will be paid to the person who has or who will incur 
such cost, as evidenced to the satisfaction of us.  This 
may or may not be the beneficiary for the rest of the 
accidental death proceeds.  We may at our sole discretion 
pay benefits directly to the facility handling the preparation 
and/or transportation.  All determinations and payments by 
us will be final and fully release and discharge us from any 
further liability under this repatriation benefit. 

Spouse Education Benefit 

What is the spouse education benefit? 

We will pay an education benefit on behalf of your spouse 
if you die as a result of a covered accident and are 
survived by your insured spouse, provided that your 
spouse enrolls in a program of higher education within 12 
months after your death. 

The benefit payable will be the lesser of: 

(1) the actual tuition charged for all such education; 
or 

(2) 10% of your amount of AD&D insurance.  
 

Only expenses occurring within 30 months after the date 
of your death will be eligible for reimbursement. 
 
Exclusions 
What are the exclusions under this certificate? 

In no event will we pay the accidental death or 
dismemberment benefit where the insured’s death or 
dismemberment results from or is caused directly or 
indirectly by any of the following: 

(1) any disease or infirmity of mind or body, and any 
medical or surgical treatment thereof; or 

(2) suicide or attempted suicide, while sane or 
insane; or 

(3) any intentionally self-inflicted injury; or 
(4) war, declared or undeclared war, whether or not 

you are a member of any armed force; or 
(5) commission of, participation in, or any attempt to 

commit an assault or felony; or 
(6) being under the influence of any narcotic, 

hallucinogen, barbiturate, gas or fumes, poison or 
any other controlled substance as defined in Title 
II of the Comprehensive Drug Abuse Prevention 
and Control Act of 1970, as now or hereafter 
amended, unless as prescribed by the insured’s 
licensed physician.  Conviction is not necessary 
for a determination of being under the influence; 
or 

(7) intoxication as defined by the laws of the 
jurisdiction in which the accident occurred.  
Conviction is not necessary for a determination of 
being intoxicated; or 

(8) active participation in a riot.  “Riot” means all 
forms of public violence, disorder, or disturbance 
of the public peace, by three or more persons 

assembled together, whether with or without a 
common intent and whether or not damage to 
person or property or unlawful act is the intent or 
the consequence of such disorder. 
 

Family Coverage 
If you have dependents, you may elect AD&D coverage 
for your eligible dependents as described below.  All 
provisions of the policy applicable to an “insured,” 
including but not limited to references in the Exclusions 
and Additional Benefits sections shall apply to a 
dependent insured hereunder. 

What members of your family are eligible for this 
benefit? 

The following members of your family are eligible for 
insurance under this supplement: 

(1) your legally married spouse who is not legally 
separated from you and who is not eligible for 
insurance as an employee under this certificate; and 

(2) your natural (biological) children, stepchildren, 
adopted (including a child placed for adoption in 
anticipation of adoption) children, children for whom 
you are the legal guardian and children for whom 
the plan has received a qualified medical child 
support order requiring the child to be enrolled in a 
health insurance plan pursuant to the State and 
Federal statutes. Children are eligible from live birth 
(stillborn or unborn children are not eligible) to the 
attainment of age 26.  A child age 26 or older who is 
mentally and/or physically disabled and incapable of 
earning a living may have coverage continued as 
long as the incapacity existed before his or her 26th 
birthday and the child was already insured under 
this plan on his or her 26th birthday. 

 
If both parents of a child qualify as eligible employees 
under the group policy, the child shall be considered a 
dependent of only one parent for purposes of this 
supplement.  If any child qualifies as an eligible employee 
under the group policy, he or she is not eligible to be 
insured as a dependent child. 

Any dependent child who subsequent to the effective date 
of your child life insurance, meets the requirements of this 
provision will become insured on the date he or she so 
qualifies.   

When does insurance on a dependent become 
effective? 

Insurance on a dependent becomes effective on the date 
when all of the following conditions have been met: 

(1) the dependent meets all eligibility requirements; 
and 

(2) if required, you apply for dependents coverage 
through processes or on forms which are 
approved by us. 
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In addition, elections made during an annual enrollment 
period will not become effective prior to the effective date 
of that enrollment (generally the following January 1). 
 
Any dependent who, subsequent to the effective date of 
the insured employee’s dependents accidental death and 
dismemberment insurance, meets the requirements of this 
provision will become insured on the date he or she so 
qualifies unless additional premium is required.  If 
additional premium is required, the insurance of such 
later-acquired dependent shall be effective under the 
same conditions which apply if the employee was then 
first becoming eligible for dependents insurance under this 
policy. 

If a dependent is hospitalized or confined because of 
illness or disease on the date his or her insurance would 
otherwise become effective, his or her effective date shall 
be delayed until he or she is released from such 
hospitalization or confinement. This does not apply to a 
newborn child.  However, in no event will insurance on a 
dependent be effective before your insurance is effective. 

What is the amount of the accidental death and 
dismemberment benefit for each insured dependent? 

The amount of insurance for a dependent is shown on the 
specifications page.  The Accidental Death and 
Dismemberment section found earlier in this policy 
describes the amount of benefits, which are based on the 
insured’s amount of insurance. 

When will the accidental death or dismemberment 
benefit be payable? 

We will pay the accidental death or dismemberment 
benefit upon receipt at our home office of written proof 
satisfactory to us that an insured dependent died or 
suffered dismemberment as a result of an accidental 
injury.  All payments by us are payable from our home 
office. 

To whom will we pay a dependents accidental death 
or dismemberment benefit? 

A dependents accidental death or dismemberment benefit 
will be paid to you, if living, otherwise to your estate. 

Termination 
When does your insurance end? 

Your insurance ends on the earliest of the following: 

(1) the date the group policy ends; or 
(2) the date you no longer meet the eligibility 

requirements as described below:  
• for all Central State Government employees:  

An insured employee shall remain covered 
until the end of the month in which he or she 
ceases to meet the eligibility requirements.  

• for all employees other than Central State 
Government employees:  An insured 
employee shall remain covered until the end 

of the month following the month in which he 
or she ceases to meet the eligibility 
requirements.  

(3) the date the group policy is amended so you are 
no longer eligible; or 

(4) 31 days (the grace period) after the due date of 
any unpaid premium if the premium remains 
unpaid at that time; or 

(5) the last day for which premium contributions have 
been paid following your written request to cease 
participation under this certificate. 
  

When does your dependent’s coverage terminate? 

Your dependent’s coverage terminates on the earliest of 
the following: 

(1) the last day of the month in which dependent no 
longer meets the eligibility requirements; or 

(2) 31 days (the grace period) after the due date of 
any unpaid premium if the premium remains 
unpaid at that time; or 

(3) the last day for which premium contributions have 
been made following your written request that 
insurance your dependents be terminated; or 

(4) the date you are no longer covered under the 
group policy. 
 

Can your coverage be reinstated after termination?   

Yes.  When your coverage terminates because you are no 
longer eligible, and you subsequently become eligible, the 
employer may reinstate such coverage under this 
certificate, according to its own rules and time frames, 
without the need to satisfy any waiting period. 

Additional Information 
Do we have the right to obtain independent medical 
verification? 

Yes.  We retain the right to have an insured medically 
examined at our expense whenever a claim is pending 
and, where not forbidden by law, we reserve the right to 
have an autopsy performed in the case of death. 

What if an insured’s age has been misstated? 

If an insured’s age has been misstated, the accidental 
death or dismemberment benefit payable will be that 
amount to which the insured is entitled based on his or her 
correct age. 

A premium adjustment will be made to the premium you 
pay for the insured's noncontributory insurance and to the 
premium an insured pays for contributory insurance, if 
any, so that the actual premium required at the insured's 
correct age is paid. 

When does an insured's insurance become 
incontestable? 

Except for fraud or the non-payment of premiums, after 
the insured's insurance has been in force during his or her 
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lifetime for two years from the effective date of his or her 
coverage, we cannot contest the insured's coverage.  
However, if there has been an increase in the amount of 
insurance for which the insured was required to apply, 
then, to the extent of the increase, any loss which occurs 
within two years of the effective date of the increase will 
be contestable. 

Any statements the insured makes in his or her application 
will, in the absence of fraud, be considered 
representations and not warranties.  Also, any statement 
an insured makes will not be used to void his or her 
insurance, or defend against a claim, unless the statement 
is contained in the application. 

Who is the owner of this coverage? 

You, the employee, are the owner of the certificate.  Only 
the owner has the right to exercise ownership rights under 
the certificate, including but not limited to naming or 
changing a beneficiary, changing the amount of insurance 
or terminating the coverage.    

Can a change of ownership for a certificate be 
requested?   

No. 

Is the policyholder required to maintain records? 

Yes.  The policyholder is required to maintain adequate 
records of any information necessary for us to administer 
this certificate and shall provide access to such records 
when required for us to administer the policy. 

If a clerical error is made in keeping records on the 
insurance under the group policy, it will not affect 
otherwise valid insurance.  A clerical error does not 
continue insurance which is otherwise stopped, make 
insurance effective when it should not have been or 
change the amount of insurance provided by the 
provisions of the policy.  If an error causes a change in 
premium payment, a fair adjustment will be made. 

Will the provisions of this certificate conform with 
state law? 

Yes.  If any provision in this certificate or in the group 
policy is in conflict with the laws of the state governing the 
group policy or the certificates, the provision will be 
deemed to be amended to conform to such laws. 
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Notice
Minnesota Life Insurance Company - A Securian Company  
400 Robert Street North  •  St. Paul, Minnesota  55101-2098

NOTICE CONCERNING COVERAGE

FMHC-41375  Rev 10-2016

Tennessee Life and Health Insurance Guaranty Association
1200 One Nashville Place

150 4th Avenue North  
Nashville, TN 37219-2433

Tennessee Department of Commerce and Insurance
500 James Robertson Parkway

Nashville, TN 37243

LIMITATIONS AND EXCLUSIONS UNDER THE LIFE AND
HEALTH INSURANCE GUARANTY ASSOCIATION ACT

Residents of this state who purchase life insurance, annuities or health insurance should know that the insurance
companies licensed in this state to write these types of insurance are members of the Tennessee Life and Health
Insurance Guaranty Association. The purpose of this Association is to assure that policyholders will be protected, within
limits, in the unlikely event that a member insurer becomes financially unable to meet its obligations. If this should
happen, the Guaranty Association will assess its other member insurance companies for the money to pay the claims of
insured persons who live in this state and, in some cases, to keep coverage in force. The valuable extra protection
provided by these insurers through the Guaranty Association is not unlimited, however, and is not available at all for some
policies.

COVERAGE IS NOT PROVIDED FOR YOUR POLICY OR ANY PORTION OF IT THAT IS NOT
GUARANTEED BY THE INSURER OR FOR WHICH YOU HAVE ASSUMED THE RISK, SUCH AS A
VARIABLE CONTRACT SOLD BY PROSPECTUS.

Insurance companies or their agents are required by law to give or send you this notice.  However,
insurance companies and their agents are prohibited by law from using the existence of the
Guaranty Association to induce you to purchase any kind of insurance policy.
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Tennessee Notice
Minnesota Life Insurance Company - A Securian Company 
400 Robert Street North  •  St. Paul, Minnesota  55101-2098

FMHC-44845  Rev 10-2016

Minnesota Life Insurance Company
400 Robert Street North
St. Paul, MN  55101-2098

Telephone:  (651) 665-3500

In the event you need to contact someone regarding this policy, you may contact the insurance company issuing this
policy at the following address and telephone number.
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400 Robert Street North  •  St Paul, Minnesota 55101-2098 
 
ACCIDENTAL DEATH AND DISMEMBERMENT CERTIFICATE OF INSURANCE 

SAMPLE


	State of TN Optional AD&D Cert Specs  Eff 1-1-2019 - FINAL
	State of TN Optional AD&D Certificate 1-1-2019. - Final
	Accidental Death and Dismemberment
	Certificate of Insurance
	Read Your Certificate Carefully
	Legal Actions
	TABLE OF CONTENTS
	ACCIDENTAL DEATH AND DISMEMBERMENT CERTIFICATE OF INSURANCE

	Definitions
	General Information
	Premiums
	Accidental Death and Dismemberment Benefit

	Additional Benefits
	Exclusions
	Family Coverage
	Termination
	Additional Information
	ACCIDENTAL DEATH AND DISMEMBERMENT CERTIFICATE OF INSURANCE





