TENNESSEE DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE RV-R0002201 (8/19)
Realty Transfer and Mortgage Tax Return

PRV Filing Period Due Date
400 Check if applicable:
Account Number County Amended return
Legal Name
Taxpayers should submit their return
Mailing Address and payment from Line 9 by visiting the
Department's website at

City State ZIP Code https://tntap.tn.gov/eservices.

1. Total realty transfer taxX COlECtRM......ccoviireririireceeeeee e (M

2. Total mortgage tax COlECLRA ..o (2)

3. Total tax collected (add LIN@S T aNd 2) .ueceviieriiiiiiceecteeeectee et 3)

4. Amount retained by register (multiply Line 3 by applicable rate).......c.cceccvecenuenee (4)

5. Total tax due to State (subtract Line 4 from LiN€ 3)....covvevivveeeiiiiieeeiie e (5)

6. Credit MEMO DAIANCE ...ttt st ebe e (6)

7. Penalty (SEE INSTIUCTIONS) .oveuirieiirieiieieiiriecsiece ettt bbb (7)

8. INLErest (SEE INSTIUCLIONS) . uuuiiiiiiiiciiieee ettt e e e e eabr e e e e e esbareeeeeeenns (8)

9. Total amount due (add Lines 5, 7, and 8; subtract LiN€ 6) .......cccceeuvevveevvrreverenreennne. (9)

I_ Under penalties or perjury, | declare that | have examined this report, and

to the best of my knowledge and belief, it is true correct, and complete.
County Register Date
Deputy or Employee Date

FOR OFFICE USE ONLY



Instructions: Realty Transfer and Mortgage Tax Return

There is a state tax imposed on the privilege of recording the transfer of realty and also a tax on any document
evidencing indebtedness. County registers and other officials charged with the collection of these taxes shall
report all collections to the Tennessee Department of Revenue. For collecting and reporting the taxes under Tenn.
Code Ann. § 67-4-409(d)(2), county registers shall be entitled to retain as commission two and four-tenths percent
(2.4%) of the taxes collected, if timely filed and paid.

The return along with the appropriate tax payment is due to be filed on or before the 15th day of the month
following the period covered.

If this is an amended return, please indicate "Filing Period" and check the appropriate box on the front of this
form.

County registers should submit online their fully completed return, along with the amount from Line 9, by
visiting the Department’s website at_ https://tntap.tn.gov/eservices. Alternatively, they may mail the return and
payment to the following address. Checks should be made out to the Tennessee Department of Revenue.

Tennessee Department of Revenue
Andrew Jackson State Office Building
500 Deaderick Street
Nashville, TN 37242

Return

Line 1: Enter the total amount of realty transfer tax collected during the month. (Round to the nearest dollar.)
Line 2: Enter the total mortgage tax collected during the month. (Round to the nearest dollar.)

Line 3: Add Line 1 and Line 2 to the total tax collected.

Line 4: If the return is not delinquent, multiply Line 3 by 2.4% to determine the register commission. Registers
are not permitted to retain a commission if the return and payment are not made in a timely manner as
prescribed by statute. [Tenn. Code Ann. § 67-4-213(e)]

Line 5: Subtract Lines 4 from Line 3 to determine the total tax due.

Line 6: If your account has a credit balance from an overpayment on a prior return, enter the amount on this
line.

Line 7: Penalty is calculated at a rate of 5% for each 30-day period, or portion thereof, that a return is
delinquent, up to a maximum of 25% of the delinquent amount. The minimum penalty is $15 for the
delinquent filing of a return. If your return is delinquent, apply the appropriate penalty rate to the total
tax due (Line 5 minus Line 6).

Line 8: Interestis due on any amount of tax that is paid after the statutory due date of the return. The interest
rate is determined in accordance with Tenn. Code Ann. § 67-1-801. The current interest rate can be
found at www.tn.gov/revenue by clicking the Tax Resources tab. If the payment is late, apply the interest
rate to the total tax due (Line 5 minus Line 6). Use the formula: (Tax on Line 5 - Line 6 x Interest Rate x
Number of Days Delinquent divided by 365.25). The interest amount due is recorded on Line 8.

Line 9: Add Lines 5, 7, and 8 then subtract Line 6 to determine the total amount due. This is the amount that
should be remitted to the Department of Revenue.



