TENNESSEE DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE RV-R0002001 (12/18)
Severance Tax on All Coal Products Return

Filing Period Due Date
Check if applicable:
Account Number FEIN/SSN Amended return
Legal Name Remit amount on Line 6 to:
Mailing Address Tennessee Department of Revenue
Andrew Jackson State Office Building
: 500 Deaderick Street
City State ZIP Code Nashville, Tennessee 37242
Name of Mine Location of Mine (include county) You may file your return and payment at
www.tn.gov/revenue.
Round to the nearest dollar
1. Total number of tons of coal products severed from the ground .......cccceeeeveennenienennee (1)

2. Total tax due on coal severed from the ground
(multiply Line 1 by the applicable rate)........ccoeeveereineiee e (2)

3. Credit MEMO DAIANCE. ... et be e sbe e sabe e eaae s 3)

4. Penalty (Se€ iNSTrUCLIONS) cecvevveeerieirieirieirieicereeseee e

.............. (4)
5. Interest (SEe INStrUCIONS) ..cccuiiiiiiee et eebaee e | .............. (5)

6. Total amount due (add Lines 2, 4, and 5; subtract Line€ 3) ......ccoevvieveiinreiiieeieeeieceree e (6)

Under penalties of perjury, | declare that | have examined this report, and to the best of my knowledge and belief,
it is true, correct, and complete.

Taxpayer's Signature Date Title
Tax Preparer's Signature Preparer's PTIN Date Telephone
Preparer's Address City State ZIP Code

Preparer's Email Address

FOR OFFICE USE ONLY



Instructions: Severance Tax on All Coal Products Return

Tenn. Code Ann. § 67-7-104 imposes tax of one dollar per ton on all coal severed from the ground in
underground mining operations and on all coal severed from the ground in surface coal mining and
reclamation operations. “Coal products” means coal ore and any other substance that might be severed from
the earth by the process of producing salable coal, by whatever method of severance used.

The tax is levied on the entire production in Tennessee, regardless of the place of sale or whether the product
is delivered outside the state. The owner is liable for the tax at the time the coal products are severed from
the earth and are ready for sale, regardless of whether it is before or after processing.

The return along with the appropriate tax payment is due monthly on or before the 15th day of the month
following the period covered. Taxpayers must file a return for each county in which they sever coal from the
ground. Taxpayers should file and make their tax payments online by visiting the Department’s website at
www.tn.gov/revenue. Alternatively, they may mail returns and payments to the address listed on the return.

You must sign and date your return. Paid preparers (accountants, attorneys, etc.) must also sign the return. If
this is an amended return, please indicate the “Filing Period” and check the amended return box on the top of
the return.

Return

Line 1: Enter the total number of tons of coal severed from the ground in mining operations in the
reported county during the reporting period.

Line 2: Multiply the total number of tons of coal severed from mining operations from Line 1 by $1.

Line 3: If your account has a credit balance from an overpayment on a prior return, enter the amount
on this line. Do not enter an amount greater than Line 2.

Line 4: Penalty is calculated at a rate of 5% for each 30-day period, or portion thereof, that a return is

delinquent, up to a maximum of 25% of the delinquent amount. The minimum penalty is $15
for the delinquent filing of a return. If your return is delinquent, apply the appropriate penalty
rate to the total tax due from Line 2.

Line 5: Interest is due on any amount of tax that is paid after the statutory due date of the return.
The interest rate is determined in accordance with Tenn. Code Ann. § 67-1-801. The current
interest rate can be found at www.tn.gov/revenue by clicking the Tax Resources tab. If the
payment is late, apply the interest rate to the total tax due from Line 2.

Line 6: Add Lines 2, 4, and 5, and subtract Line 3 for the total amount of tax, penalty, and interest
due.



