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New Filing Threshold for Out-of-State Dealers

Beginning October 1, 2020, Out-of-State Dealers
are Liable for Sales Tax if Total Sales in this State
Exceed $100,000

Public Chapter 759 (2020) establishes a $100,000
filing threshold for dealers without a physical
presence in Tennessee. Beginning October 1, 2020,
out-of-state dealers shall register with the
department to collect and remit tax if the dealer
engages in the regular or systematic solicitation of
consumers in this state through any means and
made sales that exceeded $100,000 to consumers in
this state during the previous twelve-month period.

Note: The current remote seller sales threshold of
$500,000 is established in Sales and Use Tax Rule
129(2)1. For periods beginning October 1, 2019 to
October 1, 2020, out-of-state dealers with $500,000
or more in total sales made to consumers in this
state during the previous twelve-month period must
register for and remit sales tax.

For purposes of applying the sales threshold,
dealers should include all retail sales, including
exempt retail sales, but should exclude sales for
resale.

Out-of-state dealers who are not currently required
to register but who will meet the $100,000 sales
threshold shall begin to collect and remit the tax by
the first day of the third calendar month following
the month in which this threshold was met. For
example, if a dealer meets the threshold on January
15, 2021, the dealer is required to register, collect,
and remit sales tax beginning on April 1, 2021, for
any sales made on and after April 1, 2021.

How to Register

Dealers may register through the online Tennessee
Taxpayer Access Point (TNTAP) under “Register a
New Business.” Dealers may also register with
Tennessee by accessing the Streamlined Sales Tax
Registration System.

Reporting Local Sales Tax

Chapter 491 (2019) requires out-of-state dealers to
collect and report local sales tax based on the local
jurisdiction where the sale is shipped or delivered.
See important notice 19-05 for more information.

For More Information

Visit the Department’s remote seller webpage or visit
www.tn.gov/revenue and click on Revenue Help to
search for answers or to submit an information
request to one of our agents.

References

Public Chapter 759 (2020).

Disclaimer: The information provided here is current as of the date of publication but may change as a result of new statutes, regulations,
or court decisions. While this notice is intended to be comprehensive, events and situations unanticipated by this notice may occur. In such
cases you should contact the department or your tax professional for further guidance.
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