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Dear Tennessee Taxpayer, 
  
This business tax guide is intended as an informal reference for taxpayers who wish to gain a better 
understanding of the Tennessee business tax requirements. This guide is not an all-inclusive 
document or a substitute for Tennessee business tax statutes or rules and regulations.  The 
information in this guide is current as of the date of publication.  Tax laws, their interpretation, and 
their application can change due to legislative action, reviews, and court decisions.  
  
Periodically, registered taxpayers are mailed information letters with updates on tax laws and 
policies. Please read any letter you receive carefully; the information in these letters may save you 
time and money.  
  
If you have any questions, please visit www.TN.gov/Revenue.  Click on “Revenue Help” to find 
hundreds of frequently asked questions and answers!  You can also submit a question for email 
response if you are unable to locate your answer or if the question involves a tax account matter. 
 
We also offer telephone assistance from 7:00am to 5:00pm, Central time, each business day.  Our 
main office address and telephone numbers are as follows: 
 
Tennessee Department of Revenue                                 Toll-Free:  (800) 342-1003 
Taxpayer Services Division                                            Out-of-State:  (615) 253-0600 
Andrew Jackson Building                                               TDD:  (615) 741-7398         
500 Deaderick Street 
Nashville, TN 37242 
 
The locations and addresses of each of our regional offices are provided below.  For your 
convenience, you may wish to call or send correspondence via email as described above since most 
issues can be resolved by telephone or email.   
 

Regional Offices 
 
 
Knoxville                 Chattanooga Jackson 
7175 Strawberry Plains Pike      1301 Riverfront Parkway   Lowell Thomas State Office Building 
Suite 209   Suite 203 225 Dr. Martin L. King Jr. Drive 
Knoxville, TN 37914    Chattanooga, TN  37402 Suite 340 
  Jackson, TN  38301 
                                                               
 
Johnson City  Memphis    
204 High Point Drive  3150 Appling Road 
Johnson City, TN 37601  Bartlett, TN 38133  
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Changes to the Business Tax Guide for 2019 

 
1. Effective July 1, 2019, a county or municipality is prohibited from requiring a license, fee, 

permit or other form of regulation for a business that is operated solely by a person under 
18 years of age, is located on private property with the property owner’s permission and 
generates gross receipts of $3,000 or less in a calendar year. [Tenn. Code Ann. § 5-1-132 & § 
6-54-146] (Page 7) 

 
2. Effective May 10, 2019, out-of-state businesses or employees who are responding to state-

declared disasters are exempt from business, franchise, and excise taxes for the income and 
receipts generated from business conducted in the state during the disaster response 
period. (Page 22) 
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Engaging in any vocation, occupation, 
business, or business activity listed in Tenn. 
Code Ann. §§ 67-4-708(1) – (5) is a taxable 
privilege subject to a state business tax. 
Business tax is imposed in additional to other 
privilege taxes, such as franchise and excise 
tax. 
 
Engaging in any vocation, occupation, 
business, or business activity listed in Tenn. 
Code Ann. §§ 67-4-708(1) – (4) is a taxable 
privilege subject to a municipal business tax 
that may be levied by ordinance of the 
municipal governing body.  
 
The business tax is measured on the gross 
receipts generated by the vocation, 
occupation, business, or business activity. 
 
Neither the state nor municipal tax shall apply 
to gross receipts generated from any sales of 
services or tangible personal property made 
by a provider of direct-to-home satellite 
television programming services. [Tenn. Code 
Ann. §§ 67-4-704-705] 
 
Having a substantial nexus in this state and 
engaging in this state in any vocation, 
occupation, business, or business activity 
listed in Tenn. Code Ann. §§ 67-4-708(1) – (4) 
without establishing a physical location is a 
taxable privilege subject to a state business 
tax, but is not subject to a municipal business 
tax. [Tenn. Code Ann. § 67-4-717] 
 
The phrase “engaged in this state” includes, 
but is not limited to the following activities 
[Tenn. Code Ann. § 67-4-717]:  
 

+ The sale of tangible personal property 
that is shipped or delivered to a 
location in Tennessee. 

+ The sale of a service that is delivered 
to a location in Tennessee. 

+ The leasing of tangible personal 
property that is located in Tennessee. 

+ Making sales as a natural gas 
 marketer to customers located in  
Tennessee through the presence of   
the seller’s property in Tennessee, 
through holding of pipeline capacity on 
pipelines located in Tennessee, or 
through the seller’s employees, agents, 
independent contractors, or other 
representatives in Tennessee who are 
acting on behalf of the seller by 
soliciting orders, providing customer 
service, or conducting other activities in 
furtherance of the sale.  

 
Engaging in any vocation, occupation, 
business, or business activity listed in Tenn. 
Code Ann. § 67-4-710 is a taxable privilege 
subject to a privilege tax that may be levied by 
ordinance of the governing body of any 
county or incorporated municipality, or both. 
[Tenn. Code Ann. § 67-4-705] 
 
On August 19, 2003, the Attorney General 
issued an opinion that the levy of the business 
tax by different levels of government 
jurisdiction does not constitute impermissible 
double taxation because (a) the taxing 
jurisdictions are not the same and (b) double 
taxation is not prohibited when the legislature 
intended that result.  
 
The tax imposed under the Business Tax Act 
may be collected in addition to any other 
applicable privilege taxes established by law. 
The tax will be in lieu of any or all ad valorem 
taxes on the inventories of merchandise held 
for sale or exchange by persons taxable under 
this law. [Tenn. Code Ann. § 67-4-701] 
 

 
For tax years beginning on or after January 1, 
2016, out-of-state businesses with substantial  
nexus in Tennessee are subject to business
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taxes to the fullest extent allowed by the 
Constitution. Substantial nexus includes, but 
is not limited to, any of the following
 

+ The taxpayer is organized or 
commercially domiciled in Tennessee; 

+ The taxpayer owns or uses its capital 
in Tennessee; 

+ The taxpayer has a systematic and 
continuous business activity in this 
state that has produced gross receipts 
attributable to customers in 
Tennessee; or 

+ The taxpayer has a bright-line 
presence in the state. A person has a 
bright-line presence in this state for a 
tax period if any of the following 
applies:   

o Receipts: > $ 500,000 or 25% 
of total receipts from sales in 
TN; 

o Property: > $   50,000 or 25% 
of total property by value in 
TN; or 

o Payroll: > $   50,000 or 25% of 
compensation paid in TN 

 

 
Prior to engaging in business, every person 
taxable under the Uniformity and Small 
Business Relief Act of 2013 must register with 
the Commissioner of Revenue or the county 
clerk, in the case of businesses located within 
a county. Businesses located in an 
incorporated municipality may register with 
either the Commissioner of Revenue or the 
appropriate city official.   
 
Any person subject to the tax levied by Tenn. 
Code Ann. § 67-4-704 that does not have an 
established physical location, outlet, or other 
place of business in Tennessee, but otherwise 
has substantial nexus in this state  and 
generates as much as $10,000 in annual gross 

receipts in any Tennessee county, must 
register with the Commissioner of Revenue.  
 
Persons described in Tenn. Code Ann. § 67-4-
708(5) and taxable under Tenn. Code Ann.      
§ 67-4-709(5) must also register with the 
Commissioner of Revenue prior to engaging 
in any business.  [Tenn. Code Ann. § 67-4-706] 
 
Taxpayers may contact the Department of 
Revenue or the respective county or city 
official for registration information and forms.   
 

  

 
No person described in Tenn. Code Ann. § 67-
4-708(1)-(4) shall conduct business in 
Tennessee without first acquiring the 
appropriate business licenses. The fee for 
each new business license is $15 and must be 
paid at the time the application is submitted.   
 
Upon receipt of the application and payment 
of the $15 fee, together with any other 
information reasonably required, the county 
clerk, for taxpayers located within the county, 
and the appropriate city official, for taxpayers 
located within the incorporated municipality, 
are required to issue a business license to the 
taxpayer. 
 
If the taxpayer has more than one location 
within the county or the incorporated 
municipality, a separate business license and 
$15 license fee payment is required for each 
location.    
 
Annually thereafter, upon notification from 
the Department of Revenue that the taxpayer 
has filed the required business tax return and  
remitted the amount of tax due, the license
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issuer will renew the taxpayer’s business 
license for another year. There is no 
additional fee for annual business license 
renewal.  
 
Each license issued will expire thirty days after 
the date the taxpayer’s annual business tax 
return is due for that license/jurisdiction.  
 
Any county or incorporated municipality may 
enter into an agreement with the 
Commissioner of Revenue under which the 
Department of Revenue will issue new or 
renewal business licenses, or both, on behalf 
of the county or incorporated municipality. 
This is a voluntary decision for the county or 
city.  
 
The taxpayer must exhibit the license in the 
taxpayer’s place of business.  
 
If a taxpayer’s character of business changes 
in a manner that causes the taxpayer to fall 
under a different business tax classification, 
the taxpayer must notify the Department of 
Revenue in writing to request the 
classification change. 
 
There are additional special licensing 
provisions for the following taxpayers 
discussed later in this guide: classification 4 
contractors; video programming service 
providers (cable tv); mobile telecom service 
providers; operators of overnight rentals and 
vacation lodgings; and operators of coin 
operated machines (vending machines).  
 

 
Any municipality that has enacted the 
business tax and every county will issue a 
minimal activity license to any person that is 
exempt from business tax under Tenn. Code 
Ann. § 67-4-712(d) if the person has annual 

sales of more than $3,000 but less than 
$10,000 per year within the jurisdiction.  
 
The minimal activity license will be issued 
upon receipt of an application prescribed by 
the Department of Revenue and payment of a 
$15 fee. On the application, the applicant 
must attest that the applicant is engaged in 
business within the county or incorporated 
municipality and has sales of less than 
$10,000 per year within the jurisdiction.  
 
Any county or municipality may voluntarily 
enter into an agreement with the Department 
of Revenue under which the Department will 
issue the minimal activity licenses.  
 
No person with sales of more than $3,000 but 
less than $10,000 per year can engage in 
business in the jurisdiction without first 
obtaining the minimal activity license.  
 
If a person has more than one location in the 
jurisdiction, a separate minimal activity license 
and $15 fee is required for each location. Any 
person obtaining a minimal activity license 
must display the license in the person’s place 
of business.  
 
Every county and incorporated municipality 
that issues minimal activity licenses will 
provide the Department of Revenue, upon 
request, with the identity of each licensee and 
any other information reasonably required by 
the Department of Revenue to verify the 
licensee’s compliance.  
 
Persons with $3,000 or less in annual sales in 
any incorporated municipality or county may, 
but are not required to, have a minimal 
activity license.  
 
Effective July 1, 2019, a county or municipality 
is prohibited from requiring a license, fee, 
permit or other form of regulation for a 
business that is operated solely by a person 
under 18 years of age, is located on private  
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property with the property owner’s 
permission and generates gross receipts of 
$3,000 or less in a calendar year. [Tenn. Code 
Ann. § 5-1-132 & § 6-54-146] 
 
Each minimal activity license will expire thirty 
days after the end of what would be the 
taxpayer’s filing period if the person were 
filing a business tax return. Each year, a new 
minimal activity license must be obtained for 
each of the person’s locations if the person 
will meet the qualifying gross receipts criteria; 
another $15 license fee must be paid for each 
new minimal activity license. 

Any year a person’s gross receipts in the 
jurisdiction are $10,000 or more, the person 
will be required to file a regular business tax 
return for the tax year.  
 

 
Persons in Classification 4(A) domiciled 
outside Tennessee, must, when applying for a 
business tax license, execute a bond or 
establish an escrow account with the county 
or municipality where they are applying. This 
bond will be executed by two good and 
sufficient sureties approved by the county or 
municipal clerk or by a surety company duly 
authorized to do business in this state. This 
bond or escrow account will be in an amount 
sufficient to pay that person's anticipated 
business tax liability for the balance of the tax 
period for which such license applies, as 
determined by the county or municipal clerk. 
The bond may be called by the state in the 
event of failure by the person to pay its 
business tax liability. [Tenn. Code Ann. § 67-4-
707]  
 
A county or municipality may, but is not 
required to, enter into an agreement with the 
Commissioner of Revenue under which the 
bond or escrow account will be filed with the 

Department of Revenue rather than with the 
county or municipality. [Tenn. Code Ann. § 67-
4-707(b)]   
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Businesses, vocations, and occupations 
subject to tax are described in the following 
classifications.  
 
Each person shall be classified according to 
their “dominant business activity” (the activity 
comprising the largest proportion of taxable 
gross sales of the business):   
 
Classification 1: Persons making sales of: 
 

+ (A) Food or beer generally destined for 
home preparation and consumption, 
except persons engaged in the business 
of selling delicatessens and candy at 
retail and services performed by food 
brokers.   

+ (B) Lumber, building materials, tools, 
builders’ hardware, paint and glass, 
electrical supplies, roofing materials, 
farm equipment, plumbing, heating and 
air conditioning equipment, other basic 
lines of hardware, and sales of tangible 
personal property by persons operating 
service stations, except sales covered by 
(D).  

+ (C) Hay, grain, feed, fertilizer, seeds, 
bulbs, nursery stock and other farm, 
lawn, and garden supplies, and tools.   

+ (D) Gasoline, diesel fuel, and motor oils 
sold at retail. 

+ (E) Gasoline and diesel fuel sold at 
wholesale. 

 
Classification 2: Persons making sales of:  
 
+ (A) New or used motor vehicles, parts 

and accessories, tires, batteries, motor 
boats and other watercraft, marine 
supplies, outboard motors, mobile 
homes and campers, motorcycles, and 
go-carts.   

 
 

+ (B) Clothing, shoes, hats, underwear, and 
related articles for personal wear and 
adornment, except retail sales of 
clothing to individual order.  

+ (C) Home furnishings, including retail 
sales of radios, television sets, record 
players, high fidelity and sound 
reproducing equipment, musical 
instruments, phonograph records, 
pianos, and sheet music, household 
furniture, floor coverings and related 
products, draperies, curtains, upholstery, 
china, glassware and metalware for 
kitchen and table use, miscellaneous 
home furnishings, such as brooms, 
brushes, lamps and shades, electric and 
gas refrigerators, stoves, and other 
household appliances.    

+ (D) Prescription drugs and patent 
medicines.   

+ (E) Coal, wood, ice, fuel oil, and liquefied 
petroleum gas.   

+ (F) Tangible personal property not 
specifically enumerated or described 
elsewhere.  

+ (G) Prepared food and drinks, including 
alcoholic beverages, for consumption on 
and/or off the premises. 

+ (H) Cut flowers and growing plants.   
+ (I) Advertising specialties.   

 
Classification 3: (A) Persons making these 
sales: 
 

+ (i) Delicatessens and candy. 
+ (ii) Clothing made to individual order.   
+ (iii) Antique furniture, furnishings, and 

art objects;   
+ (iv) Books and magazines, stationery, 

accounting and legal forms, office forms 
and supplies, pens and pencils, school 
supplies, and writing supplies.   

 
 



 
BUSINESS TAX 
 

 10

    
 

+ (v) Sporting goods and equipment, 
bicycles, and bicycle parts and 
accessories.   

+ (vi) Any combination of the lines of 
jewelry, such as diamonds and other 
precious stones mounted in precious 
materials, as rings, bracelets and 
brooches, sterling and plated 
silverware, watches, and clocks.   

+ (vii) Cigars, cigarettes, tobacco, and 
smoking supplies.   

+ (viii) Toys, games, and hobby kits, and 
supplies.   

+ (ix) Cameras, films, and other 
photographic supplies and equipment.   

+ (x) Gift and novelty merchandise, 
souvenirs, and miscellaneous small art 
goods, such as greeting cards and 
holiday decorations.   

+ (xi) Architectural supplies, artists' paints              
and   supplies, artificial   flowers, 
awnings, baby carriages, bait, banners, 
binoculars, coins, electric razors, 
fireworks, flags, gemstones, hearing 
aids, leather goods, luggage, optical 
supplies except for prescription 
eyewear (including eyeglasses, contact 
lenses and other related tangible 
personal property) dispensed by an 
ophthalmologist or optometrist in 
conjunction with professional services 
rendered to patients, orthopedic and 
artificial limbs, pet foods, pets, piers and 
floats, rock and stone specimens, 
rubber stamps, stamps, swimming 
pools, telescopes, tents, theatre 
programs, trophies, trunks, typewriters, 
toupees, wiglets and wigs.   

+ (xii) Persons making sales from the 
operation of pawnshops.   

+ (xiii) Persons making sales of services or 
engaging in the business of furnishing 
or rendering services except those 
professional services described below.  

 

 
 
NOTE: While generally not subject to the 
sales and use tax, services are subject to 
business tax, except for the services listed 
below. 
 
Sales of these services are not included in 
business classification 3: 
  

+ Medical, dental, and allied health 
services to human beings, including 
sanatorium, convalescent, and rest 
home care, but not including services by 
persons engaged in the business of 
making dentures and artificial teeth.   

+ Legal services.   
+ Educational services offered by 

elementary and secondary schools, 
colleges, universities, professional 
schools and junior colleges, library and 
information centers, correspondence 
schools, vocational schools and 
specialized nondegree-granting schools.   

+ Services rendered by nonprofit 
membership organizations operating on 
a nonprofit membership basis for the 
promotion of the interest of the 
members.   

+ Domestic service performed in private 
households.   

+ Services furnished by nonprofit 
educational and research agencies.   

+ Services by religious and charitable 
organizations. 

+ Accounting, auditing, and bookkeeping 
services.   

+ Public utilities.    
+ Services furnished by institutions which 

are engaged in deposit banking or 
closely related functions, including 
fiduciary activities, services furnished by 
persons engaged in extending credit or 
lending money, except persons taxable 
under Classification 5(A). 
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+ Services furnished by establishments 

engaged in the underwriting, purchase, 
sale, or brokerage of securities on their 
own account or on the account of 
others.  

+ Services furnished by exchanges, 
exchange clearing houses, and other 
services allied with the exchange of 
securities and commodities; services 
furnished by investment trusts, 
investment companies, holding 
companies, and commodity trading             
companies. 

+ Insurance carriers or insurance agents 
of any type selling or furnishing 
necessary services related to insurance 
and insurance adjustors. 

+ Operators of residential and 
nonresidential buildings except hotels, 
motels, and rooming houses. 

+ Lessors of the following properties: 
agricultural, airport, forest, mining, oil, 
and public utility.   

+ Services furnished by persons engaged 
in the practice of veterinary medicine, 
dentistry, or surgery, including services 
involving the boarding and lodging of 
animals.   

+ Services furnished by persons engaged 
in the practice of architecture, 
engineering, or land surveying. 

+ Services provided by farmers to other 
farmers for planting or harvesting of 
agricultural products or for the 
preparation, improvement, or 
maintenance of land used in the 
production of agricultural products.  

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 
 
Classification 4: Each person engaged in the 
business of contracting, performing a 
contract, or engaging in any of these activities, 
or similar activities, for monetary gain:   
 

+ (A) Exterminating services; installing 
personal property; constructing, 
building, erecting, repairing, grading, 
excavating, drilling, exploring, testing, or 
adding to any building, highway, street, 
sidewalk, bridge, culvert, sewer, 
irrigation or water system, drainage, or 
dredging system, levee or levee system 
or any part thereof, railway, reservoir, 
dam, power plant, electrical system, air 
conditioning system, heating system, 
transmission line, pipeline, tower, dock, 
storage tank, wharf, excavation, grading, 
water well, any other improvement or 
structure or any part thereof.   

+ (B) Each person engaged in the business 
of selling livestock, poultry, or other 
farm products not exempted under 
Tenn. Code Ann. § 67-4-712. 

 
Classification 5:  
 

+ (A) Industrial loan and thrift 
companies required to obtain a 
certificate and a license under 
Tennessee Code Annotated, Title 45, 
Chapter 5. 

+ (B) Natural gas marketers that are not 
regulated by the Tennessee 
Regulatory Authority, that provide 
natural gas and ancillary services to 
customers located in Tennessee, and 
that are required by the Federal 
Energy Regulatory Commission to take 
title to the natural gas in connection 
with the sale of such gas to 
customers. [Tenn. Code Ann. § 67-4-
708(5)]    
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In order to understand this tax, it is important 
to understand the terms defined below.  
 

 
“Business” includes any activity engaged in by 
any person with the object of gain, benefit, or 
advantage, either directly or indirectly. 
“Business” does not include occasional and 
isolated sales or transactions by a person who 
is not routinely engaged in business. 
 
Occasional and isolated sales, also known as 
casual and isolated sales, are sales made by 
persons not in the business of regularly 
selling the type of property being sold. 
 
“Business” does not include an individual 
property owner that utilizes a property 
management company to manage vacation 
lodging for overnight rentals. 
 

 
“Dominant business activity” means the 
business activity that is the major and 
principal source of taxable gross sales of the 
business.  
 

 
“Gross sales” means the sum total of all sales, 
without any deduction whatsoever of any kind 
or character, except as provided in this act. 
 

 
“Resale” means a subsequent, bona fide sale 
of the property, services, or taxable item by 
the purchaser. “Sale for resale” means the 
sale of the property, services, or taxable item 
intended for subsequent resale by the 
purchaser. Any sale for resale must be in strict 
compliance with rules and regulations 
established by the Commissioner of Revenue.  
 

 
 
Sales of tangible personal property or taxable 
services made by a dealer to an out-of-state 
vendor who directs that the dealer act as the 
out-of-state vendor’s agent to deliver or ship 
tangible personal property or taxable services 
to the out-of-state vendor’s customer, who is 
a user or consumer, are sales for resale.  
 

 
“Retail sale” or “sale at retail” means any sale 
other than a wholesale sale.  
 

 
“Retailer” means any person primarily engaged 
in the business of making retail sales. “Primarily” 
means that at least 50% of the taxable gross 
sales of the business are retail sales.  
 

 
“Sale” means any transfer of title or 
possession, or both, exchange, barter, lease 
or rental, conditional or otherwise, in any 
manner or by any means whatever, of 
tangible personal property for a 
consideration. “Sale” includes the fabrication 
of tangible personal property for consumers 
who furnish, directly or indirectly, the 
materials used in fabrication work, and the 
furnishing, repairing, or servicing, for a 
consideration, of any tangible personal 
property consumed on the premises of the 
person furnishing, preparing, or servicing 
such tangible personal property.   
 
A transaction in which the possession of 
property is transferred but the seller retains 
title as security for the payment of the price is 
deemed a sale.   
 
“Sale” includes the furnishing of any of the 
things or services taxable under the Business 
Tax Act. 
 



 
BUSINESS TAX 
 

 13

      
  
“Sale” does not include the transfer of tangible 
personal property from one wholesaler to 
another wholesaler (an accommodation sale) 
or from one retailer to another retailer where 
the amount paid by the transferee to the 
transferor does not exceed the transferor's 
cost, including freight in and storage costs, 
and transportation costs incurred in the 
transfer. 
 

 
“Sales price” means the total amount for 
which tangible personal property or services 
rendered is sold, including any services that 
are a part of the sale, valued in money, 
whether paid in money or otherwise. Sales 
price includes any amount for which credit is 
given to the purchaser by the seller, without 
any deduction on account of the cost of the 
property sold, the cost of materials used, 
labor or service cost, losses, or any other 
expense whatsoever. 
 
“Sales price” does not include any advertising 
cost paid by a seller to an auctioneer for the 
purpose of advertising an auction, when the 
auctioneer retains no portion of that payment 
as profit, and when that payment has been 
placed in an escrow or a trust account by the 
auctioneers on behalf of the seller.   [Tenn. 
Code Ann. § 67-4-702] 
 

 
“Transient vendor” means any person who 
brings into temporary premises and exhibits 
stocks of merchandise to the public for the 
purpose of selling or offering to sell the 
merchandise to the public. 
 
“Transient vendor” does not include any 
person selling goods by sample, brochure, or 
sales catalog for future delivery, or to sales 
resulting from the prior invitation to the seller 
by the owner or occupant of a residence.  

 
 
For purposes of this definition, “merchandise” 
means any consumer item that is, or is 
represented to be, new or not previously 
owned by a consumer, and “temporary 
premises” means any public or quasi-public 
place, including a hotel, rooming house, 
storeroom, building or part of a building, tent, 
vacant lot, railroad car or motor vehicle which 
is temporarily occupied for the purpose of 
exhibiting stocks of merchandise to the 
public. Premises are not temporary if the 
same person has conducted business at those 
premises for more than six consecutive 
months or has occupied the premises as the 
person’s permanent residence for more than 
six consecutive months. 
 

 
“Wholesale sale” or “sale at wholesale” means 
any sale to a retailer for resale.  
 
“Wholesale sale” or “sale at wholesale” 
includes the sale of industrial materials for 
future processing, manufacture, or conversion 
into articles of tangible personal property for 
resale where such industrial materials 
become a component part of the finished 
product. The provisions of this § do not apply 
to raw or unprocessed agricultural products.   
 
“Wholesale sale” includes the sale by a 
wholesaler of tangible personal property to 
the state of Tennessee, or any county or 
municipality or subdivision thereof, or the sale 
to any religious, educational, or charitable 
institution as defined as exempt from the 
sales or use tax in Tenn. Code Ann. § 67-6-
322. 
 
“Wholesale sale” includes the sale, by a 
franchised motor vehicle dealer to a 
manufacturer or distributor of motor vehicles 
or an obligor under an extended service 
contract, of parts and/or repair services  
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necessary for repairs performed by the dealer 
under the manufacturer’s, distributor’s, or 
obligor’s warranty, and also includes 
predelivery inspection charges paid to a 
franchised motor vehicle dealer by a 
manufacturer or distributor of the motor 
vehicle. 
 

 
“Wholesaler” means any person primarily 
engaged in the business of making wholesale 
sales. “Primarily” means that more than 50% 
of the taxable gross sales of the business are 
wholesale sales.  
 

§
 
Taxable services for profit or monetary gain 
do not include those services rendered by a 
person for an affiliated business entity if the 
services are accounted for as allocations of 
cost incurred in providing the service without 
any markup whatsoever.  
 
Also, the business tax definition of “sales 
price” for services rendered by a person for 
an affiliated business entity does not include, 
and the tax does not apply to, any amount 
that is accounted for as a reasonable 
allocation of cost incurred in providing the 
service.  If the charge to the affiliated business 
entity is in excess of the cost incurred in 
providing the service, the amounts in excess 
of the cost (the markup) are included in the 
sales price and are taxable. 
 
An affiliated company is one in which the 
taxpayer has more than 50% ownership 
interest, one that has more than 50% 
ownership interest in the taxpayer, or one in 
which the taxpayer’s parent company has 
more than 50% ownership interest. 
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All persons will pay the taxes imposed by 
Tenn. Code Ann. §§ 67-4-704 and 67-4-705 
according to the dominant business activity 
Classification as indicated.  
 
The rates of tax are: 
 
Classification 1: 
 

+ One tenth of one percent of all sales by 
a retailer classified under Classifications 
1(A), (B), and (C). 

+ One fortieth of one percent of all sales 
by a wholesaler classified under 
Classification 1(A). 

+ Three eightieths of one percent of all 
sales by a wholesaler classified under 
Classifications 1(B) and (C).  

+ One twentieth of one percent of all sales 
by a retailer classified under 
Classification 1(D). 

+ One thirty-second of one percent of all 
sales by a wholesaler classified under 
Classification 1(E).  

 
Classification 2: 

 
+ Three twentieths of one percent of all 

sales by a retailer. 
+ Three eightieths of one percent of all 

sales by a wholesaler.  
 
Classification 3: 
 

+ Three sixteenths of one percent of all 
sales by a retailer.  

+ Three eightieths of one percent of all 
sales by a wholesaler.  

 
 
 

 
Classification 4: 
 

+ One tenth of one percent of the 
compensation entitled to under the 
contract, whether in the form of a 
contract price, commission, fee, or 
wage, for persons in Classification 4(A). 
If contracts during the taxable period do 
not bring the taxpayer $50,000 or more 
in any locale other than the locale of 
domicile, all tax will be paid for the 
locale of domicile. Persons who, during 
any taxable period, receive more than 
$50,000 in compensation from contracts 
in a jurisdiction other than the home 
jurisdiction of domicile, will be deemed 
to have a business location in such 
jurisdiction and must file a business tax 
return for the jurisdiction in which such 
work was performed for the tax period 
in which the work was performed. Gross 
receipts reported on a deemed location 
return will not be reported on the 
business tax return for the business’s 
permanent domicile.  

+ One tenth of one percent of the gross 
commissions, margins, fees, or other 
charges by persons in Classification 4(B). 

 
Classification 5: 
 

+ Three tenths of one percent of the gross 
income of the business classified under 
Classification 5(A).  

+ “Gross income of the business” means 
all interest income, earned discounts, 
earned leased rentals, commission fees 
exclusive of insurance commissions, 
past due charges, contract earnings or 
charges, collection charges, loan service 
fees, late fee income, and all other 
income, without any deduction, except 
as provided. 

+ One fiftieth of one percent of all sales 
within the state of a person classified 
under 5(B) as a natural gas marketer.  
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For taxpayers included in Classifications 1 
through 4 and 5B, the minimum business tax 
per location is $22 each year after applying all 
deductions and credits available in Tenn. 
Code Ann. § 67-4-711 and Tenn. Code Ann. § 
67-4-713.  
 
For coin-operated vending machines, only the 
principal place of business will be subject to 
the minimum tax.  
 
For persons described in Classification 5A the 
minimum amount of tax is $450 per year after 
applying all deductions and credits available 
in Tenn. Code Ann. § 67-4-711 and Tenn. Code 
Ann. § 67-4-713. No person in this 
classification will pay more than a maximum 
of $1,500 per year after applying credits and 
deductions.  [Tenn. Code Ann. § 67-4-714] 
 
A taxable entity that is incorporated, 
domesticated, qualified, or otherwise 
registered to do business in Tennessee but is, 
or has become, inactive in Tennessee, or 
whose charter, domestication, qualification, or 
other registration is forfeited, revoked, or 
suspended without the entity being properly 
dissolved, surrendered withdrawn, cancelled, 
or otherwise properly terminated, will not be 
relieved from filing a return and paying the 
business tax. The amount of tax will be no less 
than the minimum tax amount established for 
the business’s classification.  
 
Persons subject to the business tax that have 
no established physical location, outlet, or 
other place of business in this state will 
register with the Tennessee Department of 
Revenue for state business tax if such persons 
generate $10,000 or more in annual gross 
receipts in any Tennessee county. Such 
persons will be subject to one minimum tax  
 

 
 
payment for all taxable gross receipts 
received in Tennessee. [Tenn. Code Ann. § 67-
4-717]  
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Persons subject to business tax must file a 
return with the Tennessee Department of 
Revenue. The return form will be prescribed, 
prepared, and furnished by the Department.  
 
Returns and tax payments must be filed no 
later than the fifteenth day of the fourth 
month following the end of the business’ fiscal 
year. For instance, businesses whose fiscal 
year ends on December 31 must file and pay 
their business taxes on or before April 15th of 
the following year.   
 
A taxpayer with a location within the limits of 
a Tennessee city that has enacted the 
business tax must file two returns for that 
location – one return for the city and one 
return for the county.  
 
A taxpayer with a location outside the limits of 
any Tennessee city, or inside the limits of a 
city that has not enacted the business tax, 
must file one business tax return for that 
location for the county.  
 
Taxpayers who enter Tennessee to conduct 
business activities but who do not have a 
physical business location in Tennessee and 
who generate gross sales of $10,000 or more 
in any Tennessee county must file one state 
business tax return for the gross receipts 
received in counties where gross receipts 
were $10,000 or more.  
 
The return and tax payment must be filed 
together. Failure to remit the required tax 
payment with the return will cause the tax to 
become delinquent. 
 
The Commissioner of Revenue has 
determined that all business tax taxpayers are 
required to file returns and  

 
remit the associated tax payments 
electronically.  
 
If this requirement creates a hardship on a 
taxpayer, the taxpayer can request 
permission to continue to file using paper 
return forms. The Commissioner can require 
that any paper return be accompanied by a 
manual handling fee of $25 to account for the 
additional cost of preparing, printing, 
receiving, reviewing, and processing the paper 
return. [Tenn. Code Ann. § 67-1-115(a)] 
 

 
If the due date for a return falls on Saturday, 
Sunday, or a holiday, the due date is 
automatically extended until the next 
business day. [Tenn. Code Ann. § 67-1-107] 
 

 
If a person fails to file any form, statement, 
report, or return required to be filed with the 
Commissioner of Revenue, the Commissioner 
is authorized to determine the tax liability of 
that person from whatever source of 
information may be available.   
 
The provisions relative to collection of 
delinquent taxes in Tenn. Code Ann. Title 67, 
Chapter 1, will apply to any delinquent  
business tax administered and collected by 
the Commissioner of Revenue.  
 

 
The Commissioner of Revenue may, upon a 
showing of good cause, grant one extension, 
of not more than 30 days, for a person liable 
for the business tax to file that person’s tax 
return and pay the tax shown to be due.   
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Requests for such extensions must be made 
in writing, state why the extension is  
desired, be signed, and be submitted before 
the delinquent date of the return and tax.   
 
Interest, as provided in Tenn. Code Ann. § 67-
1-801, will be added to the amount of tax due, 
beginning from the statutory due date until 
the date the tax is paid. No penalty will be 
assessed if the return is made and the full 
amount of taxes are paid on or before the 
extended due date.  
 
Any return and payment made subsequent to 
the extended due date will be subject to 
penalty and interest from the original 
statutory due date without regard to the 
period allowed by the extension. 
 

 
A penalty is imposed for the late filing of a tax 
return and for late payment of taxes owed the 
state. The penalty is computed at a rate of 5% 
per month, or any portion of a month, from 
the due date until the date the taxes are paid.  
The maximum penalty is 25% of the tax 
amount due; the minimum penalty is $15.  
[Tenn. Code Ann. § 67-1-804(a)(1)] 
 
When a taxpayer fails to submit a timely 
return and penalties and/or interest are 
applied, the penalties and interest become 
part of the tax due. The Commissioner of 
Revenue may for good cause waive payment 
of penalty on any tax due.   [Tenn. Code Ann. 
§ 67-1-802] 
 

 
Interest is imposed on taxes not paid by the 
original date required by law even if a filing 
date extension has been granted. The  
 
 

 
 
Department of Revenue has no discretion to 
refund or waive any interest charges. The 
interest rate applicable to any deficient tax 
payment is established each July 1st. [Tenn. 
Code Ann. § 67-1-801] 
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In computing the amount of business tax 
liability, the following items may be deducted 
from the measure of the tax. 
 

 
Cash discounts allowed and taken on sales. 
 

 
The proceeds of the sale of goods, wares, or 
merchandise returned by the customer when 
the sale price is refunded either in cash or by 
credit. 
 

 
The amount allowed as trade-in value for any 
article sold.  
 

 
Amounts representing the difference between 
the remaining amount due on the selling price 
of tangible personal property sold on a 
security agreement and $500, when the 
wholesaler or retailer actually repossesses the 
property sold pursuant to the terms of the 
security agreement.   
 

 
Amounts actually paid during the business tax 
period by a contractor to a subcontractor 
holding a business license or who is licensed 
by the state board for licensing contractors 
for performing activities described in Tenn. 
Code Ann. § 67-4-708(4)(A).  
 
Those activities include rendering 
exterminating services, for installing personal 
property, for constructing, building, erecting, 
repairing, grading, excavating, drilling, 
exploring, testing, or adding to any building, 
highway, street, sidewalk, bridge, culvert, 
sewer, irrigation or water system, drainage or  

 
 
 
dredging system, levee or levee system or any 
part thereof, railway, reservoir, dam, power 
plant, electrical system, air conditioning 
system, heating system, transmission line, 
pipeline, tower, dock, storage tank, wharf, 
excavation, grading, water well, or any other 
improvement or structure or any part thereof.   
 
For a contractor to be eligible to claim the 
deduction, the contractor must provide, on 
the appropriate form provided by the 
Commissioner of Revenue, the name, 
address, and business license or contractor’s 
license number of the subcontractor and the 
amount subcontracted. The contractor must 
also maintain in its records a copy of the 
subcontractor’s business license or license 
issued by the board for licensing contractors.  
 
This provision applies only to contracts issued 
on or after September 1, 2009.  Contracts 
issued before that date are subject to the 
provisions of Tenn. Code Ann. § 67-4-711(a)(5) 
that existed immediately prior to June 25, 
2009.  
 

 
Sales of services that are delivered to 
locations outside the State of Tennessee.  
 

 
The proceeds of the sale of school supplies 
and meals to students and school employees 
on campus by elementary and secondary 
schools. The proceeds of all sales of such 
items by private independent contractors 
shall not be deducted. 

 
A deduction from gross receipts is available 
for bad debts arising from receipts on which  
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business tax was paid. The deduction for bad 
debts will not include any charge attributable 
to interest on such debt.  
 
A “bad debt” is defined in 26 U.S.C. § 166. The 
amount calculated pursuant to 26 U.S.C. § 166 
will be adjusted to exclude: 
 

+ finance charges or interest,  
+ sales or use taxes charged on the 

purchase price,  
+ uncollectible amounts on property that 

remain in the possession of the seller 
until the full purchase price is paid,  

+ expenses incurred in attempting to 
collect any debt, and  

+ repossessed property.  
 
The bad debt deduction will be deducted on 
the business tax return for the period during 
which the bad debt is written off as 
uncollectible on the taxpayer’s books and 
records and is eligible to be deducted for 
federal income tax purposes.  
 
A taxpayer that is not required to file a federal 
income tax return may deduct a bad debt on 
a return filed for the period in which the bad 
debt is written off as uncollectible on the 
taxpayer’s books and records and would be 
eligible for a bad debt deduction for federal 
income tax purposes if the taxpayer was 
required to file a federal income tax return.  
 
If a deduction is taken for a bad debt and the 
debt is subsequently collected in whole or in 
part, the tax on the amount collected will be 
paid and reported on the return filed for the 
period in which the collection is made.  
 
If the amount of bad debt exceeds the 
amount of gross receipts for the period in 
which the bad debt is written off, the taxpayer 
may file a refund claim and receive a refund. 
The statute of limitations for filing the claim is  

 
 
measured from the due date of the return on 
which the bad debt could first be claimed.  
 

 
In computing the tax due, these taxes may be 
deducted from the measure of tax. These 
deductions may be claimed only by the 
taxpayer who made direct payment to the 
applicable governmental agency and, by all 
vendees of that taxpayer licensed under this 
chapter to do business in the state.   
 
Taxes, which may be deducted from the 
measure of the tax, are: 
 

+ Federal excise taxes imposed on beer, 
gasoline, motor fuel, and tobacco 
products.   

+ Tennessee gasoline tax.   
+ Tennessee motor vehicle fuel use tax.    
+ Tennessee tobacco tax. 
+ Tennessee beer taxes.    
+ Special tax on petroleum products.    
+ Taxes that are required to be passed on 

to the consumer by the provisions of the 
Retailers’ Sales Tax Act, or by the 
provisions of Tennessee Code 
Annotated, Title 57, relative to sale of 
alcohol for on-premises consumption. 
These taxes should be excluded from 
the gross sales reported on the business 
tax return, but such taxes passed on to 
the consumer may be deducted from 
the gross sales reported if such taxes are 
included in gross sales on the business 
tax return.   

+ Liquified gas tax. 
+ Bail bond taxes required to be collected 

by a bail bondsman should be excluded 
from the gross sales reported on the 
business tax return, but may be 
deducted from the gross sales reported 
if such taxes are included in gross sales.  
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Any person, unable to see because of total 
blindness, owning property of less than 
$2,500 after the deduction of encumbrances 
thereon, doing business with a capital not 
exceeding $2,500, residing within and being a 
citizen of Tennessee and of the county in 
which the exemption is claimed, and being 
the sole beneficiary of a business, is exempt 
from the payment of the business tax.   
 
Any institution for the blind, engaged in the 
training and employment of the blind of the 
state, likewise is exempt from the payment of 
the business tax without regard to property 
qualifications.   
 

 
A disabled veteran of any armed conflict in 
which the United States has engaged and who 
formerly was a uniformed member of the 
armed forces, or a peacetime uniformed 
member of the armed forces who was 
disabled while in regular service, who owns 
less than $5,000 of property after the 
deduction encumbrances thereon, who is 
doing business with a capital stock of not 
exceeding $5,000, who is a citizen and 
resident of Tennessee and of the county in 
which the exemption shall be claimed, and is 
the sole beneficiary of the business, is also 
exempt from the payment of the business tax.  
 
Only one of the exemptions described above 
may be claimed by any one person. Any 
business for which the exemption is claimed 
will be conducted by the qualifying individual 
personally or a member of that person’s 
immediate family who may be assisted by not 
more than one person not a member of the 
family.  
 
 

 
 
 
With respect to former members of the 
armed forces operating as peddlers, one 
vehicle shall be considered as one place of 
business. 
 

 
Any applicant who wishes to seek the benefits 
of the business tax exemptions provided must 
file an affidavit setting out the applicant’s 
disability, the applicant’s financial condition, 
and the source of the applicant’s income 
before the license can be issued.  Any person 
making a false affidavit and procuring a free 
privilege license as a result commits perjury 
and will be punished under the law.   
 

 
Tennessee gross sales of livestock, horses, 
poultry, nursery stock, and other farm 
products direct from the farm are exempt 
from the tax, provided that those sales are 
made directly by the producer, breeder, or 
trainer. When sales of livestock, horses, 
poultry, or other farm products are made by 
any person other than the producer, breeder, 
or trainer, they will be classed and taxed 
under the provisions of Tenn. Code Ann. § 67-
4-708(4) (Classification 4).  This provision does 
not apply to catfish farmers.   
 
Also exempt from business tax are farmers 
providing services to other farmers for 
planting or harvesting agriculture products or 
for the preparation, improvement, or 
maintenance of land used for the production 
of agricultural products. [Tenn. Code Ann.       
§ 67-4-708(3)(C)]   
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Gross proceeds derived from admissions to 
amusement or recreational activities 
conducted, produced, or provided by 
nonprofit museums, nonprofit entities which 
operate historical sites and nonprofit 
historical societies, organizations or 
associations; by organizations which have 
received and currently hold a 26 U.S.C. § 
501(c) exemption from the Internal Revenue 
Service; or by organizations listed in Major 
Group No. 86 of the Standard Industrial 
Classification Manual of 1972, as amended, 
prepared by the Office of Management and 
Budget of the federal government are 
exempt.  This exemption does not apply 
unless such entities, societies, associations, or 
organizations promote, produce, and control 
the entire activity. 
 

 
The following types of activities, based upon 
descriptions found in the Standard Industrial 
Classification Index of 1972, including all 
supplements and amendments thereto, are 
exempt from business tax on receipts from 
services but are subject to business tax on 
receipts from sales of tangible personal 
property. [Tenn. Code Ann. § 67-4-708(3)(C) 
and Tenn. Comp. R. & Regs. 1320-04-05-.16]: 
 

+ Medical and allied health services, 
except services of persons making 
dentures and artificial teeth. 

+ Religious, charitable, legal, educational, 
domestic, accounting services, 
architecture, engineering, surveying, 
and veterinary services. 

+ Services rendered by nonprofit 
membership organizations for the 
promotion of the interest of the 
members. 

+ Nonprofit educational and research 
agencies. 

 
 

+ Public utilities as defined under Tenn. 
Code Ann. § 65-4-101. 

+ Banks, building and loan associations, 
mortgage bankers, and other similar 
organizations. 

+     Insurance companies and holding 
companies. 

+ Owner-Operators of residential and non-
residential buildings other than hotels, 
motels, or rooming houses. 

+ Persons operating camps and trailer 
parks where charges are made for rental 
only of real property are exempt from 
the tax. Persons renting trailers to 
transients, or selling tangible personal 
property, or making separate charges 
for specific services are not exempt. 

+ Lessors of agricultural, forestry, mining, 
oil, public utility, and airport properties. 

+ Farmers providing qualifying services to 
other farmers.  

+ Effective May 10, 2019, out-of-state 
businesses or employees who are 
responding to state-declared disasters 
are exempt from business, franchise, 
and excise taxes for the income and 
receipts generated from business 
conducted in the state during the 
disaster response period. 

 

                            
[Tenn. Code Ann. § 67-4-712] 
 

+ Persons that are subject to gross 
receipts tax for engaging in the business 
of operating as bottlers and 
manufacturers of soft drinks and soft 
drink substitutes. 

+ Gas, water, and electric current 
companies. 

+ Telephone and telegraph companies 
except providers of mobile 
telecommunications services. 

+  
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+ 
 

+ Theaters, motion pictures, and 
vaudeville shows. 

+ Establishments selling mixed drinks or 
setups for mixed drinks. 

+ Rental of films to theaters that are taxed 
under Tenn. Code Ann. § 67-6-212. 

+ Rental of films, transcriptions, and 
recordings to radio and television 
stations operating under a certificate 
from the Federal Communications 
Commission. 

 
The business privilege tax also does not apply 
to persons in the following circumstances 
[Tenn. Code Ann. § 67-4-712]:   
 

+ Any person employed in the capacity of 
an employee or servant as 
distinguished from that of an 
independent contractor.   

+ Any person primarily engaged in the 
manufacture of goods, wares, 
merchandise, or other articles of value 
from a location or outlet subject to ad 
valorem taxation under other 
provisions of state law.    

+ Any person operating vending 
machines who exercise the option of 
paying the gross receipts tax provided 
for in Tenn. Code Ann. § 67-4-506.   

+ Newspaper route carriers and 
newspaper peddlers.   

+ Any institution operated for religious or 
charitable purposes, with respect to 
any profits that are earned from the 
sale of items contributed to the 
institution or articles produced by the 
institution from contributed items.   

+ A person who, as part of the normal 
business operations, buys and sells 
intangible personal property. 
 

 
 

+ Persons conducting shows, displays, or 
exhibits sponsored by any nonprofit 
organization of gun collectors. A person 
who regularly engages in business as a 
dealer in guns or who sells guns for 
future delivery is not exempt.   

+ Any person residing or located in this 
state or any governmental entity, 
nonprofit corporation, institution or 
organization which has received, and is 
currently operating under, a 26 U.S.C. § 
501(c)(3) or (4) exemption from the 
Internal Revenue Service whose only 
taxable business activity during the tax 
period is conducted at the Tennessee 
state fair or at only one county fair and 
their affiliates. 

+ Any person having sales of less than 
$10,000 within a county or 
incorporated municipality is exempt 
from the tax and licensing provisions in 
Tenn. Code Ann. §§ 67-4-704 and 67-4-
723 with respect to sales sourced to the 
county or municipality under Tenn. 
Code Ann. § 67-4-717. Any person 
subject to the tax imposed in Tenn. 
Code Ann. § 67-4-717(a) and having 
sales of less than $10,000 in a county 
will be exempt from the tax levied in 
Tenn. Code Ann. § 67-4-704 with 
respect to sales occurring in that 
county. [Tenn. Code Ann. § 67-4-712.] 

+ Persons or qualified businesses doing 
business from a location within an 
enterprise zone. This exemption will 
only be allowed for five years from the 
date the business is originally certified 
as a qualified business.   

+ Persons making sales or rental of real 
property that belongs to them. Sales 
and rentals of real property belonging 
to anyone other than the seller are 
subject to the business tax. 
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When title to property being transported 
passes to the vendee at the point of origin, 
the freight or other transportation charges 
are not subject to the business tax. When the 
title passes to the vendee at the destination 
point, the freight or transportation charges 
are subject to the business tax. [Tenn. Comp. 
R. & Regs. 1320-04-05-.18] 

Deliveries of tangible personal property and 
services to customers outside the state of 
Tennessee by a person subject to the 
business tax or by a common carrier before 
the customer obtains possession are exempt 
from the business tax.  
 

 
Person who drill, install and repair wells who 
are properly licensed, annually, with the 
Department of Environment and 
Conservation are exempt from business tax 
on those services pursuant to the provisions 
in Tenn. Code Ann. § 69-10-102(b).  
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Certain credits are available to persons 
subject to the business tax outlined in the law.  
They include: 
 

 
Personal property taxes properly paid under 
Tenn. Code Ann. Title 67, Chapter 5, Part 5 or 
Part 13 can be taken as a deduction against 
the total business tax liability of the taxpayer 
actually paying the personal property taxes. 
The following conditions apply.  
 
Personal property taxes are allowable as a 
credit only to the extent that the property is 
located at the place of business covered by 
the business tax return on which the 
deduction is being claimed and the property is 
taxed in the same city or county for which the 
return is being filed.  
 
Personal property taxes are allowable as a 
credit only for taxes paid either during the tax 
period covered by the return or prior to the 
due date of the return. 
 
There is no credit available for payment of 
property taxes on real property.   
 
Only the amount of personal property tax 
paid to the county will be used to determine 
the credit on the county business tax return. 
Only the amount of personal property taxes 
paid to the city will be used to determine the 
credit on the city business tax return.  
 
Personal property taxes assessed pursuant to 
an audit and subsequently paid may be taken 
as a credit either on the business tax return 
filed for the year in which the additional 
personal property tax was paid or on the 
return covering the immediately previous 
year.  If the credit is taken in the previous 
year, an amended business tax return must  
 

 
be filed for that year.  [Tenn. Code Ann. § 67-
4-713(a)(2)(C)] 
 
In cases where a lease or rental agreement 
provides specifically for payment of personal 
property taxes by the lessee or renter to the 
lessor or owner, personal property taxes paid 
by the lessee to the lessor covering any period 
of time extending beyond June 1, 1971, arising 
from assessments made against the lessor or 
owner may be taken as a credit against the 
business tax liability. The lessor may not take 
the credit authorized to the lessee by this 
section.   [Tenn. Code Ann. § 67-4-713(a)(4)]  
 
Providers of video programming services, as 
defined in Tenn. Code Ann. § 67-6-102, are 
allowed the credit to the extent that the 
property is located in a jurisdiction to which 
the taxpayer’s receipts are sourced in 
accordance with Tenn. Code Ann. § 67-4-717 
and the property is taxed by that jurisdiction. 
[Tenn. Code Ann. § 67-4-713] 
 

 
Personal property taxes paid pursuant to a 
special school district tax levied by public or 
private act may be taken as a business tax 
credit. This credit will only apply in any county 
having a population of not less than 28,250 
nor more than 28,300 or not less than 49,400 
nor more than 49,500 according to the 1980 
federal census or any subsequent federal 
census.  [Tenn. Code Ann. § 67-4-713(a)(4)]   
 

 
The amount of personal property taxes that a 
person would normally owe under Tennessee 
Code Annotated, Title 67, Chapter 5, Part 5, 
except that, pursuant to a lawful agreement 
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between the person and a local governmental 
unit or instrumentality, the person’s personal 
property has been transferred to a 
governmental unit or instrumentality maybe 
credited against the business tax liability 
provided that:   
 

+ The person shall be eligible for such 
credit only to the extent of the tax 
generated from its receipts for services 
rendered by such person to an 
affiliated person.   

+ Either person directly owns or controls 
80% or more of the other, or 80% or 
more of both persons is directly or 
indirectly owned or controlled by a 
common parent.  

+ The provisions of this § are not 
affirmatively rejected by a two-thirds 
vote of the legislative body of the 
county or municipality exercising 
jurisdiction over the governmental unit 
or instrumentality. [Tenn. Code Ann. § 
67-4-713(a)(5)] 

 

 
The pro rata portion of any privilege tax paid 
under the provisions of Tennessee Code 
Annotated, Title 56, Chapter 4, Part 4, the 
gross receipts tax for Production Credit 
Associations; Title 57, Chapter 5, the beer 
taxes; or Title 67, Chapters 4 and 5, the 
privilege and excise taxes or the property tax, 
extending past June 1, 1971, and repealed as 
of that date, may be taken as a credit against 
the business tax.   [Tenn. Code Ann. § 67-4-
713(a)(1)] 
 

 
In no case shall the total credits available in 
Tenn. Code Ann. § 67-4-713 be used to offset 
more than 50% of the taxpayer’s liability as  
 
 

 
calculated in Tenn. Code Ann. § 67-4-709.  
[Tenn. Code Ann. § 67-4-713(b)] 
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By resolution, any county or incorporated 
municipality is authorized to impose a fee on 
the exercise of privileges described in Tenn. 
Code Ann. § 67-4-710. Every county or 
incorporated municipality imposing the fee in 
Tenn. Code Ann. § 67-4-710 as of the effective 
date of the Uniformity and Small Business 
Relief Act of 2013 is deemed to have made an 
effective election to continue imposition of 
the fee, and no additional resolution is 
required. The fee should be paid to the county 
clerk for activity carried on within the county.  
 
Antique malls, flea markets, craft shows, 
antique shows, gun shows, and auto shows, 
operated as public facilities from which 
business is carried on by two or more retailers 
of tangible personal property, the owner, 
manager, operator, or promoter of the facility 
must obtain a business license and collect and 
submit to local tax officials a $1 fee per day 
per booth from each exhibitor at the 
promotion location. 
 
The preceding provision does not apply to 
exhibitors properly licensed at the promotion 
location prior to July 1, 1983, until such time 
as that license expires. It shall also not apply 
to promotions conducted by nonprofit 
associations, corporations, or organizations, 
nor to casual and isolated activities by 
persons who do not hold themselves out as 
engaged in business.  
 
However, for flea markets, those exhibitors 
registered for Tennessee sales and use tax 
purposes and those who register annually 
pursuant to Tenn. Code Ann. § 67-6-220 
(dealers who make retail sales at flea markets) 
have the option of either obtaining a business 
tax license and remitting the  

 
 
 
business tax in accordance with the 
provisions of Tenn. Code Ann. § 67-4-709, or 
remitting the $1 fee per day per booth to the 
flea market operator. 
 
Those exhibitors not registered annually shall 
pay the $1 fee per booth per day to the flea 
market operators. Those exhibitors electing to 
obtain a business tax license must present 
evidence of the license to the operator before 
conducting business.  
 
The fee described will be in lieu of any 
business tax otherwise provided for by law.  
 
An antique mall, flea market, craft show, 
antique show, gun show, or auto show in 
which the location is not a continuing 
business, the fees collected by the owner, 
manager, operator, or promoter shall be 
submitted to local tax officials, together with 
such supporting documents as the tax 
collector may require, within 72 hours after 
the closing of the event.  
 
An antique mall, flea market, craft show, 
antique show, gun show, or auto show in 
which the location is a continuing business, 
the fees collected by the owner, manager, 
operator, or promoter shall be due and 
payable monthly, on the first day of each 
month.  
 
For purposes of preparing the supporting 
documents that the tax collector may require, 
all owners, managers, operators, or 
promoters must, on or before the 10th day of 
each month, transmit to the collecting official 
the forms prescribed, prepared, and 
furnished by the official, together with the 
amount of tax collected during the preceding 
month. Failure to remit the tax by the 10th day 
of each month will cause the tax to become 
delinquent.  
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This provision does not apply to any business 
that is primarily engaged in selling antiques at 
least 5 days each week in a permanent 
location. For antique malls selling antiques at 
least 5 days a week with a common cash 
register for all sales, only the mall operator 
will be required to obtain a business tax 
license and pay on all receipts derived from 
that location.  Individual booths rented at 
such malls will not be deemed to be separate 
places, locations, or outlets in the state from 
which business is conducted.  
 
“Flea market booth” means any contiguous 
space leased by a single vendor to sell 
tangible personal property.  
 

 
Transient vendors shall pay a fee of $50 for 
each 14-day period in each county and/or 
municipality in which such vendors sell or 
offer to sell merchandise or for which they are 
issued a business license. Transient vendors 
will pay their tax liability prior to the first day 
of engaging in business. Transient vendors 
shall not be liable for the tax levied under 
Tenn. Code Ann. § 67-4-709. 
 

 
Certain airports or other navigation facilities, 
located outside the territorial limit of the 
municipality that created or controls the 
facility, may be taxed, under the Business Tax 
Act, by that creating or controlling 
municipality as though the facility were 
located within the municipality’s territorial 
limit. Any vocation, occupation, business, or 
business activity located on the grounds of 
the facility may also be taxed as though it 
were located within the territorial limit of the 
municipality.  
 

 
 
 
There are specific restrictions to which this 
taxation authority is not applicable defined in 
Tenn. Code Ann. § 67-4-727(b). Consult the 
statute for explanation of those restrictions.  
 

 
As used here, “traveling photographer” means 
a photographer who makes studio-type 
photographs or portraits and sells them, but 
does not have an established studio or place 
of business in the trade area in which such 
photographs are taken. It does not include a 
photographer who makes photographs to be 
placed upon articles of identification.  
 
Before a traveling photographer may do any 
business in a community, the photographer 
must first register with the sheriff or chief of 
police where the photographer proposes to 
conduct temporary business.  The 
photographer will give full name and address, 
the name and address of any other person 
working with the photographer, the name and 
address of the employer with which the 
photographer is connected, and must furnish 
proof that a deposit of $100 has been made 
with the county clerk and a like amount with 
the proper municipal tax collector, against 
whatever amount or amounts of business 
taxes the photographer may owe on account 
of business done in the county or 
municipality, or both, as the case may be.   
 
Any deposits made will be a credit on the 
amount of business tax for which such 
photographer may be liable to any county or 
municipality. When the taxes are paid, any 
balance remaining to the photographer’s 
credit with the respective taxing jurisdictions 
will be refunded.   
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When an individual property owner utilizes a 
property management company to manage 
vacation lodging for overnight rentals, the 
property owner is not considered to be in the 
business of property management, even 
though any other of that person’s activities 
could be considered business subject to the 
business tax. In such a case, the property 
management company will be liable for the 
payment of the business tax on the business 
of renting the properties. The tax will be 
based on the gross proceeds from the 
overnight rentals and any other source of 
gross income subject to the business tax.  
 
Property management companies are 
required to have one license in every 
jurisdiction where the overnight rentals and 
vacation lodgings are located. Gross sales of 
all rentals in that jurisdiction should be 
reported on the respective jurisdictions 
location ID. 
 
 

 
Person providing video programming services 
and who sell tangible personal property are 
required to be licensed and must file business 
tax as a Classification 3 service provider in 
every county and city jurisdiction where those 
sales are received by their customers 
regardless of whether the provider has a 
physical  location in that jurisdiction pursuant 
to Tenn. Code Ann. 67-4-717(b)(2) and (c)(2). 
 
 
 

 
Persons providing wireless 
telecommunications services must register 
and  pay business tax as a  Classification 3 
service provider  in every county and city 
jurisdiction where those sales of services are 
received by their. If the provider also has 
physical store locations located within a 
jurisdiction in this state, they are required to 
have an additional license with those 
jurisdictions and pay business tax on all sales 
made from that store location as a 
Classification 2 taxpayer.    
 

 
Persons operating coin operated vending 
machines who have a physical location or 
locations within this state are required to be 
licensed and pay business tax in the 
jurisdiction(s) of their principal place of 
business, rather than where their machines 
are located.  Reported gross sales for each 
location should include all sales from all 
vending machines serviced by that location 
located in Tennessee. 
 
Persons operating coin operated vending 
machines in Tennessee who have no physical 
location must obtain one (1) license in each 
county and/ city jurisdiction where the 
vending machines are located and report 
gross sales from all sales made  from all 
machines located  in that jurisdiction. 
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If any person liable for any tax, penalty, or 
interest levied hereunder sells out the 
person’s business or stock of goods, changes 
the legal structure of the business (i.e., from 
sole proprietor to corporation, corporation to 
limited liability company, etc.), or quits the 
business, the person will make a final return 
and payment within 15 days after the date of 
selling or quitting the business.  
  
The person’s successor, successors, or 
assigns, if any, will withhold a sufficient 
amount of the purchase money to cover the 
taxes, interest, and penalties due and unpaid 
until the former owner can produce a receipt 
from the Commissioner of Revenue showing 
that the taxes have been paid, or a certificate 
stating that no taxes, interest, or penalties are 
due.   
 
If the purchaser of a business or stock of 
goods fails to withhold the purchase money 
as indicated, the purchaser will be personally 
liable for the payment of the taxes, interest, 
and penalties accruing and unpaid on account 
of the operation of the business by any 
former owner or operator.   
 
The amount of the purchaser’s liability for 
payment of such taxes, interest, and penalties 
cannot exceed the amount of purchase 
money paid by the purchaser to the seller in 
good faith and for full and adequate 
consideration in money or money’s worth.  
 
“Purchase money” includes cash paid, 
purchase money notes given by the purchaser 
to the seller, the cancellation of the seller’s 
indebtedness to the purchaser, the fair 
market value of property or other 
consideration given by the purchaser to the 
seller. It does not include indebtedness of the  

 
 
 
 
seller either taken or assumed by the 
purchaser when a tax lien has not been filed.  
 
The purchaser shall have no liability for taxes, 
penalties, and interest if the Department of 
Revenue releases the former owner, owners, 
or assigns from the original liability for such 
taxes, interest, or penalty through payment of 
the amount due, and settlement with the 
Department.  
 
Assume that a purchaser receives, in good 
faith and without knowledge of any false 
statement therein, an affidavit from the seller 
at the time of the purchase stating under oath 
the amount of such taxes, interest, and 
penalty due and unpaid by the seller to the 
Department through the date of purchase, or 
a statement from the seller that there are no 
due and unpaid taxes, interest, and penalty, 
and the purchaser in good faith withholds and 
sets aside from the purchase money to be 
paid to the seller in an amount sufficient to 
pay the amount of taxes, penalty, and interest 
shown to be unpaid by the seller’s affidavit.  
 
If that purchaser tenders a copy of the seller’s 
affidavit by registered or certified mail to the 
Department’s Collection Services Division, the 
purchaser will be released from any liability, 
in excess of that which is shown on the 
affidavit, for taxes, penalty, and interest 
unpaid by the previous owner, owners, or 
assigns unless the Commissioner notifies the 
purchaser of the correct tax liability at the 
correct return address provided by the 
purchaser within 15 days of receipt of the 
affidavit.  
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The above provisions applicable to 
termination or transfer of a business do not 
apply to any licensee transferring a business 
from one location to another, within the same 
municipality, on a one-time basis during any 
annual taxable period.  
 
In this event, a licensee shall notify the 
Department of Revenue at least five days 
prior to the last day of business at the old 
location, submitting a request to update the 
location address. 
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Each person required to pay the business tax 
must maintain records showing the gross 
amount of tax owed to the state, the amount 
of that person’s gross receipts taxable under 
the business tax, and other books of account 
as may be necessary to determine the 
amount of tax liability. All of the taxpayer’s 
records must be open to inspection at all 
reasonable hours to the Commissioner of 
Revenue or any person duly authorized by the 
Commissioner. The taxpayer must maintain 
all books and records for a period of 3 years 
from December 31 of the year in which the 
associated return was filed.   
 
Other than the name and address of any 
present or former owner or operator of any 
trade or business, as appearing on any 
business or occupation license or application, 
all tax returns, tax information, and tax 
administration information relative to 
business tax is subject to the confidentiality 
provisions of Tenn. Code Ann. Title 67, 
Chapter 1, Part 17.    
 

  

 
For purposes of distribution of the state 
business tax provided for in Tenn. Code Ann. 
§ 67-4-704, receipts will be sourced to the 
county in which the person’s established 
physical location, outlet, or other place of 
business is located. Receipts from sales made 
by persons operating from an established 
physical location, outlet, or other place of 
business in one county who extend their 
operations into other counties without 
establishing a physical location, outlet, or 
place of business in the other counties will be 
sourced to the county in which the person’s  
established physical location, outlet, or place 
of business is located.  

 
 
If the person has no established physical 
location, outlet, or other place of business in 
the state, the receipts will be sourced to the 
state and will be earmarked for the state’s 
general fund. 
 
Receipts from all taxable sales of any services 
or tangible personal property by a provider of 
video programming services will be sourced 
to the county where the property or service is 
received by the customer regardless of 
whether or not the provider has a physical 
location, outlet, or other place of business in 
that county.  
 
Compensation of more than $50,000 from 
contracts performed in one county by a 
contractor described in Tenn. Code Ann. § 67-
4-708(4)(A) will be sourced to that county and 
the tax from such contracts will be distributed 
to that county. Compensation of $50,000 or 
less from contracts performed in one county 
by such person will be sourced to the county 
of the person’s domicile or location. If the 
person does not have a domicile or location in 
Tennessee, such compensation will be 
earmarked and allocated to the state’s 
general fund.  
 
For purposes of distribution of the municipal 
business tax provided for in Tenn. Code Ann. 
§ 67-4-705, receipts will be sourced to the 
municipality in which the person’s established 
physical location, outlet, or other place of 
business is located. Receipts from sales made 
by persons operating from an established 
physical location, outlet, or other place of 
business in one municipality who extend their 
operations outside the boundaries of the 
municipality without establishing a physical 
location, outlet, or place of business outside 
the boundaries of the municipality will be  
sourced to the municipality in which the 
person’s established physical location, outlet, 
or other place of business is located.  
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If the person has no established physical 
location, outlet, or other place of business in 
the state, then such receipts will not be 
subject to the municipal business tax.  
 
Receipts from all taxable sales of any services 
or tangible personal property by a provider of 
video programming services will be sourced 
to the municipality where the property or 
service is received by the customer regardless 
of whether or not the provider has a physical 
location, outlet, or other place of business in 
that municipality.  
 
Compensation of more than $50,000 from 
contracts performed in one municipality by a 
contractor described in Tenn. Code Ann. § 67-
4-708(4)(A) will be sourced to that municipality 
and the tax from such contracts will be 
distributed to that municipality. 
Compensation of $50,000 or less from 
contracts performed in one municipality by 
such person will be sourced to the 
municipality of the person’s domicile or 
location. If the person does not have a 
domicile or location in Tennessee, such 
compensation will not be subject to the 
municipal business tax.  
 

    

 
(1) An amount equal to $7 per return will be 
paid to the county clerk with respect to each 
tax return filed by a taxpayer either located 
within the county or who otherwise obtains a 
license for that county. Of this amount, $3 will 
be earmarked for computer hardware 
purchases or replacement, but may be used 
for other usual and necessary computer 
related expenses at the discretion of the 
county clerk.  
 
The amount will be reserved for these 
purposes and will not revert to the general 

fund at the end of a budget year if 
unexpended.  
 
(2) An amount equal to $7 per return will be 
paid to the appropriate city official for each 
tax return filed by a taxpayer either located 
within the city or who otherwise obtains a 
license for the city.  
 
(3) After the distributions listed in (1) and (2), 
an amount equal to 5% of the remaining 
proceeds of the tax collected will be paid to 
the county clerk in the case of returns filed by 
taxpayers located or licensed in the county 
and to the appropriate city official, in the case 
of returns filed by taxpayers located or 
licensed in the municipality.  
 
(4) After the distributions listed in (1) – (3), 
43% of the remaining proceeds of the state 
tax collected by the Commissioner will be 
earmarked to the state’s general fund and 
43% of the municipal tax collected by the 
Commissioner will be earmarked and 
allocated to a fund held by the state to be 
used for purposes of the municipality that 
levied the tax.  
 
This portion of the municipal tax will be 
reserved for these purposes and will not 
revert to the general fund at the end of a 
budget year if unexpended. 
 
(5) After the distributions listed in (1) – (4), an 
administration fee of 1.125% of the remaining 
proceeds of the taxes will be allocated to the 
Department of Revenue to cover the 
expenses of administration and collection.  
 
(6) After the distributions listed in (1) – (5), the 
remaining proceeds from the state tax 
collected will be distributed to the county in 
which the taxpayer established a physical 
location, outlet, or other place of business 
from which the sales were made.   
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The remaining proceeds from the municipal 
tax collected will be distributed to the 
municipality that levied the tax.  
 
Items (1) – (6) notwithstanding, 100% of the 
tax, interest, and penalty collected from a 
taxpayer that does not have either a license 
or an established physical location, outlet, or 
other place of business in any county or 
municipality in the state will be earmarked 
and allocated specifically to the state’s general 
fund. Additionally, 100% of the tax, interest, 
and penalty collected from a taxpayer 
described in Tenn. Code Ann. § 67-4-708(5) 
also will be earmarked and allocated 
specifically to the state’s general fund.  
 
When the Department of Revenue audits a 
taxpayer’s books and records and discovers 
that the taxpayer owes additional tax, penalty, 
and interest, 100% of the tax, penalty, and 
interest assessed as a result of the audit will 
earmarked and specifically allocated to the 
state’s general fund.  
 
The fee levied by a county or municipality 
under Tenn. Code Ann. § 67-4-710, including 
any associated penalty and interest, will be 
retained by the county or municipality that 
levied the fee. An amount equal to 5% of the 
proceeds of the fee will be paid to the county 
clerk, in the case of such fees collected by the 
county, or to the municipal business tax 
official, in the case of such fees collected by a 
municipality.  

 
All tax returns filed with the Department of 
Revenue undergo some type of office audit or 
examination to ensure that the correct tax has 
been paid. This audit could be a computer 
math audit, a manual examination by a  
trained auditor, or both. The taxpayer will be 
contacted if additional information is needed  

 
 
to complete the audit. The taxpayer will 
receive written notification if any adjustments 
are made to the return. Not receiving written 
notification cannot be relied upon as an 
affirmation from the Department that the 
return was correct or accurate. 
 
Any taxpayer selected for a field audit will be 
contacted by the Department of Revenue to 
set up a convenient time for the audit.  The 
taxpayer will receive advance notification on 
which records will be needed for the audit. A 
field audit generally involves tax returns filed 
for the previous three years.  At the 
completion of the audit, the auditor will leave 
the taxpayer a written report for review. Once 
the auditor has made any necessary changes 
to the report, the notice of assessment for any 
underpaid taxes will be issued. [Tenn. Code 
Ann. § 67-1-1301] 
 

[Tenn. Code Ann. § 67-1-1438, 67-1-1801] 
   
Taxpayers are entitled to an informal 
conference to discuss an assessment. If this 
request is made in writing within 30 days from 
the date of the Notice of Assessment, the 
conference will be granted.  If made after 30 
days, the conference may be granted at the 
Commissioner’s discretion. 
 
If the taxpayer timely requests an informal 
conference, the proposed assessment will 
become final after the informal conference 
process concludes. 
 
Taxpayers wishing to contest a final 
assessment without making payment have 90 
days to file suit in chancery court, as provided 
in the statute. Interest will continue to accrue 
at the prevailing rate until payment is 
received.  A lien may be filed against the 
taxpayer’s property during this 90-day period.   
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If the taxpayer does not file suit within the 90 
days of the assessment becoming final, the 
taxpayer may pay the final assessment,  
request a refund, and then file suit in 
chancery court if the refund is not paid 
following the procedures set forth in the law 
(Tenn. Code Ann. § 67-1-1802). You are not 
required to request an informal conference 
before contesting a final assessment in court.  
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 



 
BUSINESS TAX 
 

 36

 
You, as a taxpayer, have certain rights that are protected by state law.  
 

 

 
 Receive fair and courteous treatment from all Department of Revenue employees;  

 Receive tax forms and information written in plain language;  

 Receive prompt and accurate responses to all questions and requests for tax assistance;  

 Request public records;  

 Be assured that the Department will keep confidential the financial information you give it;  

 Know the Department’s policies with respect to use and retention of personally identifiable 
information;   

 Receive tax notices that provide an explanation of the amount being billed;  

 Receive a clear set of rules and procedures to resolve tax problems that arise from the 
interpretation and administration of Tennessee’s tax laws;   

 Dispute any proposed assessment by filing a timely request for an information conference;  

 Know that the Department’s employees are not paid or promoted as a result of money billed 
to or collected from taxpayers;   

 Suggest ideas about how the Department of Revenue can better serve you;  

 Prompt notification by the Department of any refund to which you are entitled;  

 Attend annual meetings held by the Department of Revenue in convenient locations to voice 
your suggestions;  

 A 10-day notice before a levy on assets is enforced;   

 A 30-day notice before seized assets are liquidated;  
 

 A speedy, informal, and inexpensive review of a proposed assessment in an informal 
conference with an impartial representative of the Department and to be represented by an 
attorney, certified public accountant, or other representative; and 

 Any other rights the Commissioner of Revenue deems necessary and appropriate.   
 

    [Tenn. Code Ann. § 67-1-1438] 
 
Taxpayers are entitled to an informal conference to discuss a proposed assessment. If this request 
is made in writing within 30 days from the date of the Notice of Proposed Assessment, the 
conference will be granted. If it is made beyond the 30 days, the conference may be granted within 
the discretion of the Commissioner.  
 
Requests for conferences may be sent to:  
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Administrative Hearing Office 
Tennessee Department of Revenue 
500 Deaderick Street, Suite 11.451 

Nashville, TN 37242 
Phone (615) 741-3810 

Fax (615) 741-6463 
DORconference.request@tn.gov 

 
If you request an informal conference in a timely manner, the proposed assessment will become 
final after the informal conference process concludes. If the Commissioner does not allow an 
adjustment, the proposed assessment will become final as of the date of the Commissioner’s written 
decision. If the Commissioner allows an adjustment, a written determination will be issued stating 
the amount of tax due, and that amount will be the final assessment.  
 
If you do not request an informal conference, or if you make an untimely request for an informal 
conference, that proposed assessment will automatically become a final assessment on the 31st day 
after the date of the notice of proposed assessment. If you cancel your timely informal conference, 
the proposed assessment will become a final assessment on the date you notify the Department in 
writing of the cancellation or on the 31st day after the date of the notice of proposed assessment, 
whichever is later.  
 
If you wish to contest an assessment without making payment, you have 90 days to file suit in 
chancery court, either in Davidson County or in the Tennessee county where you reside or 
principally conduct your business. Interest will continue to accrue at the prevailing rate until 
payment is received. A lien may be filed against your property during this 90-day period.  
 
If you do not file suit without 90 days of the assessment becoming final, you may pay the final 
assessment, request a refund, and then file suit in chancery court if the refund is not paid, following 
the procedures set forth in the law (See Tenn. Code Ann. § 67-1-1802). You are not required to 
request an informal conference before contesting a final assessment in court.  
 
 
 


